the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Mellowing 151

05.28.2003

9:41 pm

Nothing to write, really, except that I'm happily sitting at my nifty desk, having no idea why the Internet didn't work for an hour or two. I used the time to make some more Musicmatch playlists, and now, as I read diaries and peck away at this one, I'm listening on headphones. I almost never do that; I listen to music in the car, mostly. But I'm going away for a few days next week -- an eight hour bus ride each way -- so music and headphones seem like a good plan. More on my trip in a day or two, perhaps. Anyway, R and K are watching TV behind me, I don't know what. When they're home, they own the remote. I told someone today that having them both home feels like the house is being occupied by an enemy army. Not a hostile enemy, not at all. They just take over.

So I'm listening, listening. This is the playlist I called Romantic.

First up:
Behind Closed Doors, Charlie Rich. My new favorite song.
Next: Through the Years, Kenny Rogers. It makes me cry, because it reminds me of my parents, but it makes me smile, because it reminds me of my parents.
Next: She Sings the Songs Without Words, Harry Chapin
Next: Can't Help Falling in Love, Elvis Presley
Next: Don't Worry, Baby, The Beach Boys
Next; You Send Me, Sam Cooke
Now Playing: Chances Are - Johnny Mathis

Coming Up:
Love Will Keep Us Together - Captain & Tennille
Looking for Love - Johnny Lee
I Know You're Out There Somewhere - Moody Blues
Still the One - Orleans
Pina Colada Song - Rupert Holmes
When A Man Loves A Woman - Percy Sledge
Someone Like You - Rod Stewart
Soul and Inspiration - The Righteous Brothers
Wedding Song (There Is Love) - Captain & Tennille.
Do That to Me One More Time - Captain & Tennille.
I Got You Babe - Sonny and Cher
Dreams Go By - Harry Chapin
Walking in the Rain - Jay and the Americans
Since I Fell for You - Lenny Welch.
Someday We'll be Together - Supremes.

And, yes, I legally own all this stuff. I am officially the only person who ever went into a Barnes and Noble and bought a Captain and Tennille CD. They didn't even know they had one.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching not a clue
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here