the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Phenomenal 153

05.31.2003

7:17 pm

There are two odd phenomena that I've been aware of for most of my life that are just a little ESPy and weird, but not so out there that I need to be studied at the parapsychology department of the local university. Just a little quirky, like the rest of my life.

The first one is that I have dreams that come true. I know I read this in someone else's diary in the last couple of weeks, but I don't remember where (that sort of memory not being what I'm best at, although I remember all kinds of other things. But I digress.) Nothing major, nothing big; it's not like I dream of world peace and that makes it happen. It's happened several times in my life, but the one that I remember most clearly is the first time.

I was about twelve when I had this dream, and I remembered it clearly as soon as I woke up because it made me laugh. In the dream, I was standing at the bottom of the stairs one morning before school, and I called up to my mother that if she threw her car keys down to me, I would back the car out of the garage for her. It was funny because, of course, I was too young to drive, but also because in the dream, I was wearing pants, not a skirt or a dress. I remembered it so clearly because I was standing with one foot up on the first or second step as I called up to my mother, and it was funny that I would ever wear pants to school, since girls didn't do that.

Cut to five years later, when I was 17, had gotten my learner's permit, and, thanks to the late 60s, I was now wearing bell-bottom jeans or cords to school every day. One morning before school, as my mother was running late, I was going upstairs to ask for her keys, but I stopped at the bottom of the stairs, one foot up a step, and called up to her instead. As soon as the words came out of my mouth, I thought "Oooh, I dreamed this exact thing years ago. Ooooh."

So that's phenomenon #1. Maybe this has happened ten times or so in my life, always a boring, uninteresting momentary detail of me.

#2. This happens to me at least once a day, every day.

I'll be reading something, or typing something, or even driving down the road and a word on a sign catches my eye. The exact instant that my eye grabs a word and reads it, I'll hear the word, either on TV or the radio or someone in the room says it. This is so, so weird and it happens to me all the time.

Again, it's always something really ordinary and uninteresting. Sometimes it's a number instead of a word. The really strange ones are when I read a word that means a sound, like crash, and I hear a crash sound at the same time.

Example: I was out this morning, taking a short-cut through a mall parking lot on my way to somewhere. There was a song on the radio, I don't remember what it was, but it was Linda Ronstandt. Anyway, as I was looking at the road, I noticed a sign painted on the lane next to me, a giant left-turn arrow and the huge word only. Just then, I heard the word only in the song.

Is this not as strange as I think it is? Is it just because we're so bomabarded by sounds and words all the time that sooner or later, just by the odds of chance, this is going to happen? Or am I receiving carefully timed signals from some other planet? I mean, every day?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Shrek
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here