the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's the Friday Five! 162

06.13.2003

8:59 pm

1. What's one thing you've always wanted to do, but never have?
Possibly, dance. I cannot dance, I do not dance. But it looks like fun, it looks sexy. I'd like to be able to do that. I don't know if it's the one thing, but it's the one that came to mind. I've also always wanted to see Ireland.

2. When someone asks your opinion about a new haircut/outfit/etc, are you always honest?
I always try to find something to say that is honest but not mean. It's a way of not lying, but thinking about what you're saying, picking out what's in your head that you really believe or know to be true, and then saying that. It's like when the kids were little and they asked me if I believed in Santa Claus. Do I believe that there's a fat jolly man in a red suit who lives at the North Pole? Uh, no. But when I think about it, and what Santa Claus is, and it's a sense of joy and wonder and magic for children to believe in, well, yeah, I sure believe in that. So I said yes, and I meant it. Like that.

3. Have you ever found out something about a friend and then wished you hadn't? What happened?
I'm sure this has happened, although I can't recall anything specific. I'm generally uncomfortable if a casual acquaintance says anything too personal, and I really don't think anybody else's sex life is any of my business. Once, maybe ten years ago, I was standing around with a bunch of other Girl Scout leaders, all people I knew; we were waiting to step off in the annual Memorial Day Parade. Someone said, "So what'd did you do last night?" and one of the other women, known for being both crude and funny, said in a most delighted way, "Well, I'll tell ya. I screwed the legs off my husband." We were all simulataneously incredibly embarrassed and amused. It was the way she said it. Probably if anyone else said something like that in a casual setting it would put me off, but from her, it didn't. Of course, I've never been able to look her husband in the eye since.

4. If you could live in any fictional world (from a book/movie/game/etc.) which would it be and why?
It would have to be Star Trek, the Star Trek of the Next Generation and Captain Picard. This may only be because I'm hot for Picard/Patrick Stewart, but even so. Star Trek exists in a future where there's no poverty or suffering on earth, and the challenge of daily living (according to Picard) is to improve yourself. Sounds good to me. Your kids probably still don't clean their rooms, but at least the dirty dishes just get recycled and don't have to be washed.

Harry Potter/Hogwarts comes in a fairly close second.Except I'd like mine without Voldemort or the Malfoys, please.

5. What's one talent/skill you don't have but always wanted?
People who know me have no idea. Two things -- I'm doing two -- that I've always wished I could do but couldn't:
I'd like to play the drums. To be able to be a rock and roll drummer, like Ringo, or, even better, Dave Clark, would be so cool. Of course, it would be even better to be Gene Krupa, but only Gene Krupa could be Gene Krupa.

It would be so cool to surf. Since I can't swim, this is hardly an option, even taking lessons, but I love to watch surfing. It looks like flying.


I just got home with K from seeing Finding Nemo. (R had seen it last week. If Hubby still went to movies, which he hasn't for about ten years, he wouldn't have seen this one, for sure.) Anyway -- see it. It was great. I even put a Nemo theme on my computer before I started writing, so as we speak, my cursor is a sea-horse. LOVED IT.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Hubs watching basketball
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here