the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Shamelessly Lifted 545

09.26.2004

8:08 pm

from the golfwidow.

Five details about you...
  1. I'm 51 years old.
  2. I'm a little over five feet two inches tall.
  3. I've had the same job since February 2, 1977.
  4. I have a tattoo of a purple chai on the inside of my left wrist.
  5. I used to have a brain tumor but not anymore.
Five details about your appearance right now...
  1. My hair is short (I got a haircut yesterday) and graying really, really well.
  2. I'm wearing my normal uniform of jeans, t-shirt, fleece socks, and sneakers.
  3. No makeup today. It's Sunday.
  4. Wearing glasses.
  5. Just took off my ring and watch for the night.
Five things you did today...
  1. Replaced the Internet router, again.
  2. Folded the laundry and put it away.
  3. Vacuumed the family room.
  4. Went out to lunch and visited with the ILs.
  5. Talked to K on the phone in our weekly call to Germany.
Five memorable things you did in the last year...
  1. Lost 20 pounds.
  2. Lowered blood pressure and cholesterol.
  3. Went to England and Wales for a week in March.
  4. Planned and implemented a workshop for high school staff to combat hate speech, particularly as it relates to GLBT kids. (Gay-Lesbian-BiSexual-Transgendered)
  5. Let my baby go to school in Germany for a semester.
Five things that everyone should know about you...
  1. I don't like to be the center of attention, but I like to be noticed.
  2. I'm not the same pushover I used to be.
  3. I really am friendly, but I'm shy.
  4. I'm usually embarrassed to take credit for good things I've done, and don't take compliments well, but I'm better at it than I used to be.
  5. I almost never mean to be critical of other people, but I know that sometimes I come off that way.
Five things that make you happy...
  1. Good things happening to good people.
  2. 70 degree days with sunshine and no humidity.
  3. A good night's sleep.
  4. Macaroni and cheese.
  5. Finding -- or just thinking about -- things that I still have that I've had since I was a little kid.
Five people who mean a lot to you...
  1. daughters, one and two
  2. Hubs
  3. Sibs
  4. Shirl and Jack - they're a set, living or dead.
  5. the three grandparents I knew. Yes, also gone. That's 9. So sue me.
Five things that disgust you...
  1. snakes
  2. IBS
  3. I go nuts when I need to get an IV put in and they can't find a vein in my arm so they put it in the top of my wrist or hand. I just fall apart and weep until it's in. It's virtually the only medical procedure that freaks me out, except ...
  4. I don't mind the colonoscopy, so much, but I'd rather kill myself than endure the day before a colonoscopy again. Like there's a choice.
  5. Did I mention snakes?
Five things you can't live without...

Because I am a lover of gadgets, the first things that come to mind here are gadgets, like computer, Internet, TV, even the washing machine. But that's not the right answer. The truth is, if we have to, we can live without almost anything or anyone, except air, water, and food. We don't want to and we wouldn't like it, but we could. Or we wouldn't and we would die. I think I don't know how else to answer this question.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching What Women Want
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here