the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

If You Haven't Seen It Before, It's New to You 599

11.28.2004

1:07 pm

Okay, I adapted this a little bit and I put in ... answers.

You Know You're From North Jersey When...
You live within 45 minutes of at least three different malls. I live within 45 minutes of more than a dozen malls.

You can see the New York City skyline from some part of your town. Only a little from my town, but from every other town nearby.

You have or know someone with mafia connections too. I don't know anyone with connections and I'm sure I never have. Okay, maybe one. But he was probably making it up.

You think the New York Jets should be called the New Jersey Jets. They play in New Jersey, don't they?

You have at least one friend who drives a truck. Probably.

You've been camping. Once with the family, but maybe a dozen times with Girl Scouts.

You've been in a town or city where Spanish is spoken more than English. I'm sure.

You know where to get drugs in Paterson, Newark, or New York. I certainly don't know where to get them personally, but I know they're readily available nearby, and probably everywhere at this point.

You know where to get a freshly cooked Taylor Ham, Egg and Cheese sandwich at 2 a.m. Of course I do. I had no idea that this was a New Jersey thing; I thought you could get this anywhere.

You remember Action Park and may have been seriously injured there. No, I wasn't injured there, but everyone here knows someone who was.

At some time you got on the wrong highway trying to get out of Willowbrook Mall. Well, yeah. It's the labyrinth.

You think people from South Jersey talk funny. Heh heh.

Most of your friends are at least 2 different ethnic groups (probably one of them being Italian) Another good one. We don't even think of Italian as an ethnic group. As for people from at least 2, well, certainly.

You'd rather be getting tortured in the jungles of vietnam than on ANY highway in north jersey at rush hour. Or worse, during the Christmas season.

You think that even people living in South Jersey are hicks. Uh ... well... yes, we do.

You know that the only people who call it "Joisey" are from New York (usually The Bronx) or Texas. Yes. We don't talk like that, that I know of. My mother was from the Bronx, and she didn't either.

You don't think of citrus when people mention "The Oranges." We also know that there's a South, East, and West Orange, but no North, and no town just called "Orange."

You know that it's called "Great Adventure," not "Six Flags." Exactly.

You've ordered a hard roll with butter for breakfast. Once again, doesn't everybody do this everywhere?

Whenever you park, there's a Camaro within three spots of you. This one's a bit of an exaggeration. The Hubs' car in high school was a Firebird, not a Camaro.

You remember that the "Two Guys" were from Harrison. Whatever happened to that store, anyway?

You know that the state isn't one big oil refinery. No, only that stretch along the Turnpike, actually.

At least three people in your family still love Bruce Springsteen, and you know what town Jon Bon Jovi is from. Heavens, we all still love The Boss, and K worships JBJ. My mother-in-law still sticks by that old New Jersey standard, Sinatra.

You know what a "jug handle" is. They're all over the place. (It's the way to make a left turn from the right lane.)

You know that the state isn't all farmland. Of course not. Some of it is oil refineries.

You know that there are no "beaches" in new Jersey - there's "The Shore," and you know that the road to the shore is "The Parkway" not "The Garden State Highway." Absolutely.

Even your school cafeteria made good Italian subs, and, you call it a "sub" not a "submarine sandwich" or worse yet, a "hoagy" or a "hero." Also true.

You know how to properly negotiate a Circle. You close your eyes and step on the gas.

You knew that the last question had to do with driving. Well.

You know that this is the only "New..." state that doesn't require "New" to identify it (like, try ...Mexico, ...York, ...Hampshire (doesn't work, does it?). Just makes sense.

You only go to New York City for day trips, and you only call it "The City." Except for me, since I never go, but yes.

You know that a "White Castle" is the name of BOTH a fast food chain AND a fast food sandwich. I LOVE White Castle!

You consider a corned beef sandwich with lettuce and mayo a sacrilege. Eeeuuuuww!

You know the location of every clip shown in the Sopranos opening credits. No, not all of them. But a lot of them.

You weren't raised in New Jersey -- you were raised in either North Jersey, Central Jersey or South Jersey. North, please.

You remember the stores Korvette's, Two Guys, Rickel's, Channel, Bamberger's and Orbach's. I do indeed. I still say to my kids that I'm going to Bamberger's and before they call the home on me they say "Do you mean Macy's?"

You also remember Palisades Amusement Park. IT WAS THE BEST!!! And it had the World's Largest Salt Water Pool!

You've never pumped your own gas. If I'm driving out of state, I fill up the tank before I leave home. I could as easily fly a plane as I could pump my own gas. It's actually illegal here for customers to pump gas themselves.

You actually get these jokes and pass them on to other friends from North Jersey. K loves them.


Get Your Own "You Know You're From" Meme Here

More cool things for your blog at Blogthings

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Back to the Future II
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here