the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Thanks, I Just Ate 631

01.05.2005

7:53 pm

Today's earlier and briefer entry is here.

I got this from golfwidow, who got it from someplace else, and like she did, I'm making up my own rules (sort of.)

According to the BBC, these are the 50 foods to eat before you die: (the idea is to cross out the one's that you've eaten)

  1. Fresh fish - When the Hubs was a fisherman, pre-vegan, I had bass fresh-caught by his own hands, at Squam Lake, New Hampshire.
  2. Lobster - Mm, love the lobster.
  3. Steak - Yes, but not a fan
  4. Thai food - Just once, I believe, in Wales last March, of all places.
  5. Chinese food
  6. Ice cream
  7. Pizza
  8. Crab - I like crab. Crab legs are the default order at the Red Lobster.
  9. Curry - Just a few times. R has made it once or twice since she's back in the U.S.
  10. Prawns - Shrimp, right? One of my favorite foods.
  11. Moreton Bay Bugs - Don't know what this is, don't want to.
  12. Clam chowder - Yes, but not the Manhattan, that's icky. Just the New England.
  13. Barbecues - I grew up and live in the suburbs. Barbecues are unavoidable.
  14. Pancakes
  15. Pasta
  16. Mussels - A few times, not a fan
  17. Cheesecake - Big fan
  18. Lamb - Lamb chops are one of my favorite foods
  19. Cream tea - Don't know what this is, but it sounds good.
  20. Alligator - Okay, here's a story:
    On the Senior Class trip about 5 years ago, we were all at a street fair where all kinds of foods were being offered up at kiosks, and one of them was alligator on a stick. One of the boys walking alongside our group of teachers said he might like to try it, and his friend immediately came back with "Euu, how can you eat something like that out?" and I said "What, you only like alligator the way mom makes it at home?"
  21. Oysters - Once, didn't like them.
  22. Kangaroo - No, but R ate some in Australia and found out later what it was; she had been petting kangaroos in the zoo that morning and cried.
  23. Chocolate
  24. Sandwiches
  25. Greek food
  26. Burgers
  27. Mexican food
  28. Squid - I came to it late in life, but I love fried calamari. With blue cheese dressing.
  29. American diner breakfast - It's a New Jersey classic, you know. I am very fond of diner breakfast for dinner.
  30. Salmon
  31. Venison - I've had few opportunities to eat animals they don't sell in supermarkets, and that's just fine with me.
  32. Guinea pig - Ditto. Eeuu. How can people eat animals that are generally kept as pets?
  33. Shark - For the first time a few months ago. Nothing special.
  34. Sushi - But I don't care for the fish sushi, just the veggie
  35. Paella
  36. Barramundi - no idea what this is, except for what golfwidow and the empress said.
  37. Reindeer
  38. Kebab - This must be something other than food on a stick, so no.
  39. Scallops - I can take 'em or leave 'em.
  40. Australian meat pie
  41. Mango
  42. Durian fruit
  43. Octopus
  44. Ribs
  45. Roast beef
  46. Tapas
  47. Jerk chicken/pork
  48. Haggis - R had some haggis at the Boy Scout Jamboree in Chile, of all places, six years ago.
  49. Caviar
  50. Cornish pastry

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching waiting for Lost
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here