the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Let's See Now 642

01.17.2005

7:21 pm

Did I mention that I decided to take an actual graduate course, online, this semester? It's about children's literature and film. (Hmm, I think I did mention it. Which leads to the next question: how come I always forget whatever it was I was just about to do, but if I've ever actually said anything, I end up repeating it again and again and again. Huh, old me, funny. But I digress.)

So I got my hands on the syllabus and reading/viewing list today -- the class officially starts tomorrow -- and damn, the first thing I have to watch is Nicholas Nickleby. I hate that Dickens, man! And in what universe is Dickens children's literature, I'd like to know?

In other news, it's freaking cold out there. (Now chaos thinks I'm whining, and she's right, because it's probably waaay colder where she is!)

And in other news, I don't want to go to work anymore. Ah well, in five or six years I won't have to, I suppose. I'd rather stay home and watch movies, even icky Dickens ones.

Mmm, what else? Oh yeah, R made dinner tonight. Are you ready? Bangers and mashed! She's so cute! (And feeling much better, btw.)

Cosmic had this and I liked it, so here you go:

A - Accent: I don't think I have an accent, doncha know, and I certainly don't have that Jersey City/Bronxy thing going on, but I suppose I do have something. We talk fast, I'm told.
B - Breast size: I'm hoping for a 36D, but it's somewhere between there and a 38DD.
C - Chore you hate: All of them. Okay, cleaning up cat barf.
D - Dad's name: Jack.
E - Essential make-up item: None of it is esential, but I put cover-up on my eye circles first.
F - Favorite perfume: None! Never!
G - Gold or silver: Each in its own time and place. But I wear more gold.
H - Hometown: I was born in the Bronx, New York.
I - Insomnia: All the damn time.
J - Job title: School librarian
K - Kids: Two daughters
L - Living arrangements: Me and the Hubs, currently R (the elder daughter, 23), and two OCD cats, Q and Boo.
M - Mum's birthplace: Coney Island, New York. Not on the Cyclone.
N - Number of apples you've eaten: I shoot for one a day, but I don't always do it.
O - Overnight hospital stays: twice for babies, once for brain surgery
P - Phobia: Snakes.
R - Religious affiliation: None.
S - Siblings: I sister, four and half years older than I am.
T - Time you wake up: Weekdays at 6 am, and sometimes weekends, too, unless I can make myself sleep later.
U - Unnatural hair colors you've worn: never did that.
V - Vegetable you refuse to eat: I don't eat anything with too many seeds and stuff anymore, or corn, but I've never eaten a vegetable I couldn't stand.
W- Worst habit: Currently? Hmmmmmmmmmmm........
X - X-rays: Oh, a whole bunch, and MRIs and CAT scans, too.
Y - Yummy foods you make: They love my macaroni and cheese, and french toast.
Z - Zodiac sign: Capricorn.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here