the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Christmastime Is Near 1325

12.18.2006

7:51 pm


All the other kids were doing it!

Actually, the FIL called before and asked me to take pictures of our Christmas tree since they won't be getting up here to see it this year. Hmm. I asked the Hubs, Do your parents see our tree every year since they moved? and he says he's not sure, but he doesn't think so. Anyway, I took a bunch of pictures and this was the best one, so I printed it for him and posted it for you. It's a tree. (And you know I love it.) Moving on.

I can't help but wonder why he is concerned with not seeing our tree this year. (He also called the Hubs' sister and asked her to bring pictures of her tree.) He is definitely losing mobility, and probably has the sense that he is not going far from home much anymore. He's been having a lot of pain/back issues recently, and although he's starting to see improvement, he's got a long way to go. I think his health is remarkable for a man of his age -- 78 -- and size -- I'm guessing 350 pounds, minimum -- but I'm wondering if he's finally starting to get some sense that aging is not all sunshine and puppies. I mean, he has it to some degree, as he's had hip problems since an accident when he was a kid, and he's had his hip replaced four times (I think), but whatever it is, I'm sensing a change. He doesn't sound depressed or anything; he's generally a very cheerful person, and now that his pain has abated a little, he just sounds like himself, but I don't know. This is a whole family of people that deals with troubles best by avoiding them for as long as they possibly can. That other shoe is going to drop one day with a colossal thud.

I didn't sleep again last night, not until 3 am or so, and it's starting to wear a little thin. I took a nice nap this afternoon; no one else was home and it was already dark, so I guess it looked like nighttime to Q, who totally forgot to whine for her 6:00 meal. I don't think she's sick, since last night she actually conned the Hubs into feeding her at 6:10 when I had just fed her at 5:50, and she gobbled it all up and doesn't seem to have barfed anywhere.

Speaking of barf, didja see this one? The Hubs sent me the link this morning, along with the observation that if Boo and Q were whales, we could be millionaires.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching House
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here