the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Friday Five

02.14.2003

9:07 pm

Required a bit more thought this time.

1. Explain why you started to journal/blog.
I did discuss that quite a bit when I started. Briefly, I stumbled across a diary kept by a student in my school, was fascinated by that, and then started jumping around to others and became very intrigued.

2. Do people you interact with day to day or family members know about your journal/blog? Why or why not?
Some do, some don't. Actually, most of the people who are significant to me know, although I don't know how many of them get what it is. One of my daughters also keeps an online journal, so she gets it.
Why do they know? Because it's become very important to me. Why don't they know more? If they're not into it, they're not going to get it. And I haven't given my address to anyone because one of the things I like about the process is the freedom of writing without people I know reading it.

3. Do you have a theme for your journal/blog?
The theme is just me and what I'm thinking about and trying to figure out who I am and why. The visual theme is purple, purple, and purple. And the chai.

4. What direction would you like to have your journal/blog go in over the next year?
I'd like to keep it going, and learn more about myself in the process. It's better than therapy. (I know because I'm in therapy, and since I started the journal, I keep running out of things to talk about there.)

5. Pimp five of your favorite journals/blogs.
Oh my. Such treacherous ground. I did this in an early entry too, but here goes:
I like to read diaries of other grownups/mommies who have a sense of humor and who, like me, are trying to figure out what's going on. The funniest of all are weetabix, who makes me laugh out loud even when I'm reading her diary at work, and kitchenlogic, just because. Tasty food for thought comes from strangerlucy, melwadel, and sunnflower.

But my favorite of all is wifemotherme, and I'll bet that a lot of the other people whose diaries I read would say the same.

Yes, I know that's six. So sue me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here