the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Snowbound!

02.17.2003

4:15 pm

Really. Here it is, 4:15, and it's been snowing since about 6 last night. Looks to be about two feet out there. I am not exaggerating. My car is buried in snow up to the top of the wheels.

Hubs is out shoveling, which will take him hours or until he dies, whichever comes first. This snow shoveling always makes me nervous. Like the lawn in the summer, he does not believe in power tools of any kind. (He believes they exist, he just doesn't believe they should be used by him.) So, no snow-blower, and no sons either, who would have been away at college anyway. (Sexist? Okay.)

So I'm stuck in, which is okay, since I actually read a whole book, something I rarely do. The Lovely Bones, which is not the modern-day To Kill a Mockingbird, as I had heard, but a good read. And I cried a whole bunch, so that's always good.

Will I get K to her train tomorrow? Will Amtrak ever run again in the Northeast corridor? Tune in tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here