the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And the countdown marches on 40

01-03-03

3:45 pm

**In 9 days I will be 50 years old**

A word or two about the countdown and the birthday. Clearly, I have birthday issues -- good ones -- and the fact that is a real big one only seems to be tickling me more. Being 50 doesn't mean that you're old, past it, over the hill, whatever. It means that you're not dead yet. And this is a good thing.

But since I tend to celebrate my birthday my going all nuts inside myself, I don't lean towards parties and celebrations. The big family celebration is dinner out this Saturday (tomorrow, 8 days early) since Younger Daughter will be back at college by the big day itself. (And not a moment too soon, thank you very much.) So I'm going to make a birthday party for myself at work on Friday, the 10th.

It's my turn to bring in dessert that day, a date which I picked for this very reason. Sometimes people bring in very fancy and usually homemade treats on their dessert days. Well, that's out for me. So I'm planning, and hope I can pull off, a children's birthday party, circa 1958 (I don't remember back much farther than that, but I have pictures of this one.)

So everybody will get Mickey Mouse plates and cups and spoons and goodie cups full of candy (goodie bags hadn't been invented yet.) And birthday hats, and blowers. Our feast will consist of Hostess cupcakes (chocolate AND orange), twinkies, and snowballs, if I can find them. We all ate this stuff by the truckful back then, because Howdy Doody said it was good for us, and we believed. I'll look for scooter pies, too. I'm going to bring in milk, with Bosco, and strawberry Bosco. I may make a pitcher of Kool-Aid, and draw a face on the side.

And now, for something completely different. I want to thank those wonderful people who have read my diary and even left me guestbook entries! Your words and thoughts and knowing you're out there makes me so, so happy! I haven't written as much this week since those two Daughters are always a) in the room with me and b) using my computer, but I found a minute and wanted to say how much I'm loving this whole diary thing and all of you out there.

Thanks for your patience. It's hard not be sappy this close to my wonderful birthday.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here