the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Wedding Ring

02.01.2003

2:25 pm

I always knew what kind of wedding ring I wanted to wear. I wanted one just like my father's. Jack wore -- still wears -- a gold band with a narrow beaded edge. It's a classic style, could be worn by a man or a woman. I liked it. It looked like what a wedding ring is supposed to look like.

My mother, on the other hand, wore a silver-colored ring, about a third of an inch wide, with all sorts of filigree-type designs around it. Flowers? Birds? I couldn't tell. It seemed more than a wedding ring needed to be, especially when I found out it was platinum.

Then, for some special anniversary, she picked out a new wedding band. Much more ornate, gold, with three oval-shaped opals in it. I liked the ring -- I like opals -- but it didn't look like a wedding ring. The old one started looking better.

Alas, my hoped-for wedding band was not to be. First, my engagement ring was not so ordinary; we found an antique ring that I loved for only $800; it's too wide to wear with another ring and it's platinum; I wanted a gold band. Then my Aunt Rose, a collector of antique jewelry, gave us an antique wedding band for our wedding. Very plain, no beaded edge, a pinkish gold. Okay. I got married with that, and wore it for a few years, until pregnancy made my fingers swell, and I couldn't wear it anymore. Then I lost a lot of weight and it was too big.

I picked out and Hubs bought me a new ring, three intertwined, very thin, bands of gold, one white, one yellow, one pink. It looks like a puzzle ring, except it's not a puzzle. I've worn it for most of the last 22 years.

Once, I wanted to wear my engagement ring, and I asked my mother if she had a ring I could wear that would go with it so I could wear them together. She dug into her jewelry box and pulled out her original wedding ring. They looked good together; she said I could keep it. It didn't seem like a big deal to her.

When Shirl died in May, I felt very strongly that I wanted to have something of hers with me, at least though the funeral, and then for a while after. So I put on her wedding ring, which now I see is so beautiful and classically simple. Inside, I can still see the faintest image of the inscription that was put there just over 58 years ago: "All my love, Jack" He signed every card that way, even every letter he sent home from World War II. I saw it a hundred times.

And now I wear it, every day. It's her, it's him. It's me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here