the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Friday Five

03.01.2003

7:53 am

Yes, I know it's Saturday. This is a tough one.

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)?
Mostly I read magazines, since my attention span evaporated with the menopause. In my English major days I read poetry and liked it, but didn't seek it out. I was a big fan of novels, short stories, and plays, of which my favorites were William Shakespeare and Eugene O'Neill.

2. What is your favorite novel?
Just one? No way.
1. Gone with the Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
2. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
3. The Color Purple (Alice Walker)
4. The Trumpet of the Swan (E.B. White)
5. The Rise of David Levinsky (Abraham Cahan)

and a cast of thousands.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!)
Do I? Maybe, maybe not, but this is the one that came into my head when I read the question:

This Is Just to Say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

William Carlos Williams

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read?
I forgot.

5. What are you currently reading?
People Magazine. But I actually did read a real book just last week, which was The Lovely Bones.


Oh, I almost forgot: wangitude?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here