the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Friday Five 97

03.14.2003

8:18 pm

So it's been a hell of a week -- and not in the good way -- but more than I can write about, not yet. So glad I was to be reminded that Friday means a Friday Five and I can write a little and still not feel anything. I'm not ready to feel just yet.

1. Do you like talking on the phone? Why or why not?
It depends on who I'm talking to. I like talking to my sister on the phone, and I try to talk to Old Friend once a week. I like talking on the phone if I can feel relaxed about it, especially since I don't hear so well, and on the phone it's usually worse. I love catching up with my wonderful cousin in Colorado, but she talks so softly that there's almost no point.

2. Who is the last person you talked to on the phone?
It's a two-part answer. I answered the phone about an hour ago when my mother-in-law called during dinner, but I didn't actually speak to her. When we called back a little later, she did ask to speak to everyone else in turn, but she skipped me. My guess is that she is having some weird reaction to my father's recent death. My guess is based partly on my last real phone call, earlier this afternoon, from my husband�s aunt, who had only just heard about my father�s death (although it happened three weeks ago), and with whom I had a wonderful and warm and sincere and real talk. So I'm going to say that the last person I actually talked to on the phone was Aunt Marie.

3. About how many telephones do you have at home?
More than anyone needs, for sure. Currently about six, but one of those is on its way out; I've just plugged in the new one already. Plus three of us have cell phones.

4. Have you encountered anyone who has really bad phone manners? What happened?
My husband has a pretty bizarre attitude towards the telephone -- he wants to hatchet it off the wall, and he'll only use the wall-phone in the kitchen -- and I've heard him be pretty rude, especially to telemarketers. Mostly he just doesn't answer the phone unless I've just had surgery and am still under anesthesia.

5. Would you rather pick up the phone and call someone or write them an e-mail or a letter? Why or why not?
Again, it depends on who it is, when and where. Only the phone for my sister. I'd love to email my cousin, but she doesn't quite get all that yet. As for letters, I am the world's absolutely worst correspondent, so letters are definitely out.

32dF, clear

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Brady Bunch, muted
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here