the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Between 99

03.16.2003

1:35 pm

Persophone rises!

Okay, that's a little too "I-took-Latin-nyah-nyah", but seriously, it's SIXTY-SIX DEGREES out; it's as if New Jersey's been scooped up off the planet and dropped down a whole lot closer to the equator. Listen: this is a real good thing.

Yes, you all know about the winter and the weather and the shitloads of snow we've been getting here. But living in the middle of a metaphor is too damn creepy, and it's time for this one to end. Now.

True, my father died just hours after the end of a blizzard, and so that cold/end of life/death connection comes easily. But this rebirth that we're having today is giving me hope of another kind, about another issue. It's what I've avoided writing about for the last few days, but maybe now, it's okay.

On Thursday, we were told that one of the girls at school -- a freshman, she's 14 -- had contracted bacterial meningitis, the kind that people don't tend to recover from. She was in school Tuesday, felt sick Tuesday night and went to the hosptial. By Thursday, she was in a coma and her organs were beginning to shut down.

On Friday, we were told that she had made it through the night, and this was a good sign. This morning, I read an article in the paper ("Meningitis Case at Local High School"), and it said that she's showing signs of improvement.

And then I walk out my front door and the earth has decided to come back to life, too.

Just a word or two about this little girl (and she would bitch-slap me if she heard me describe her that way.) She's a member of a club I'm an advisor to, a gay-straight alliance kind of club. She is not a sweet child, a retiring flower. She's a feisty broad with moxie, even at 14. She does not take crap from anyone. She had a fight with her mother once (she reported to us at a club meeting), about ordinary stuff, cleaning her room or whatever, and she ended it, as only a kid could, with "Oh, yeah? Well, I'm bi! What do you think of that?"

You gotta love this kid.

And I do.

I'm not a praying sort of person, so I haven't been praying. Just sort of hoping that on the universe's plan for 2003, taking this kid out of the race isn't on the list. It might be the same as praying, though.

Maybe she's out of the woods, for now. It's such a beautiful day.

66dF magnificent!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Zoolander , with static
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here