the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Uh ... Friday, right? 102

03.21.2003

9:21 pm

And that's ... five? Okay, yeah. As long as it's taking me so incredibly long to get all those nasty war-type thoughts out, I might as well answer five questions, one of which is unbelievably easy. Not so sure about the rest of them. But first, a tale of my day:

I actually experienced a librarian-related job injury today. I jammed a finger between a stack of heavy books I was moving and the edge of the metal book cart I was picking them up from. Yes, this is an injury the source of which lay within my absolute lack of grace and coordination. I misjudged the distance between ... oh, you get it. It hurt like hell, it could have been broken, it was puffing up and turning blue, so I went to the school nurse for ice. My first mistake.

Oh, she gave me the ice all right, after she looked at it and said "Oh, it looks terrible!" I explained that this is the finger I broke at camp when I was ten and that it's looked all bent like that for the last forty years. (Not the first time I offered that explanation today. A little foreshadowing.) Well, then she said it didn't look so bad after all, she gave me the icebag, and said that since it was a work-related injury (although it didn't hurt anymore by then) there was paperwork to fill out, 800 numbers to call.

So I'm filling out the paperwork (not for the first time today), trying to hold a pen without using the middle finger of my right hand, where the boo-boo is. By the way, this can't be done.

And so it goes. I called the 800 number. I went to the workman's comp doctor, who x-rayed it, although even he didn't think it was broken. Why the x-ray? Because when he pressed against the top joint of the finger, it hurt. Indeed it did, and does. Since 1963, in fact.

Needless to say, I am fine. He gave me a plastic splint to wear, which pressed against the bumpy joint and hurt, so I took it off. It's a lot less blue. And I have to go back on Wednesday so he can look at it again. Surprisingly, he appeared to be a real doctor, and not some workman's comp scam-type guy. Anyway, I got to take the rest of the afternoon off, and then the sun came out.

And now, without further ado:

1. If you had the chance to meet someone you've never met, from the past or present, who would it be?
Isn't this the kind of thing we all think of a million times, but then someone asks and you can't come up with a single name? I think I'd like to meet my grandfather, my father's father, who died when I was two. Okay, technically, I did meet him, but I have no memory of that, or of him. So I'll answer this one with Grandpa Louie.

2. If you had to live in a different century, past or future, which would it be?
I'm sure this would totally suck, especially being a woman, but I've always been intrigued with the whole King Arthur/British castles era. So that's England, about 600 A.D., I guess. No, wait. The starship Enterprise, 24th century, but only if it's real, and on the good one with Captain Picard, not the also-cool-but-somewhat-cheesy first one, with Captain Kirk

3. If you had to move anywhere else on Earth, where would it be?
Canada? Ireland? I'd prefer someplace where they speak English, please, as I'm too old to learn a new trick, let alone a new language. Actually, with all the government doings of late, we discuss this some here at chez chai. Older daughter is rooting for Australia, which she visited last year and took a shine to. Iceland has some appeal, except for the language thing; the idea of all that geo-thermal energy intrigues me. At least my feet would probably be warm when I was walking around. But I'd really like an apartment on Main Street in DisneyWorld where I have a good view of the parade, every day.

4. If you had to be a fictional character, who would it be?
EASIEST QUESTION EVER!! Jo March from Little Men! Second choice: almost any Jane Austen heroine.

5. If you had to live with having someone else's face as your own for the rest of your life, whose would it be?
HARD HARD QUESTION! It's not like you can see your own face most of the time, so what difference would it really make to me? Anyway, I'd want it to be my own face. So whose face would I want for my own? If I could look like anyone else in the world for the rest of my life, who would it be? Isabella Rosellini. Or her mother, Ingrid Bergman. There you go.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Larry King, generals, etc.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here