the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's a good news day 105

03.25.2003

7:31 pm

First: Older Daughter R was accepted into the graduate school of her choice:

The University of Wales.

Yes. Wales. There is a wonderful program for her at the University of Wales, in Cardiff, in the United Kingdom. She'll be there for a year, and I'll get to visit her there.

How incredibly cool is this! Helluvan opportunity for the kid, and the tuition is the same (or less) than it would be at our own state university. And the plane fare to London is actually less than the plane fare to Washington, D.C., believe it or not. So, come September, the kid goes to Europe for a year. I am jealous and happy and excited.

Second: L, my little freshman with meningitis, is expected to recover. To recover. She's being treated with antibiotics now, and is still in serious condition, but I think no longer critical. Wow, wow, wow. Will she have after-effects? I'm sure. My sister was in a coma once for a week and woke up with amnesia, like in a soap opera, but over time it all came back, The resiliance of the human body and the human spirit are so remarkable, aren't they? Sometimes, when I'm not in cynical mode, I think how cool we just are, people.

Or as Hamlet said, "What a piece of work is man." Okay, I know he was being cynical at the time, but even so.

52dF

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Everybody Loves Raymond rerun
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here