the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Arggh! My ears! 119

04.14.2003

6:36 pm

How long is a cold supposed to last, anyway? Here I thought I was finally getting better (I don't know why I thought that, had no reason to, but I did) and now my throat hurts again and the insides of my ears feel raw.

Eeeuuw.

I'd better go see a doctor on Tuesday and have those ears looked at. Maybe it's just allergies, in which case I'll load up on generic Claritin and ride it out for a few weeks. If it's something else, though, I need to know before Wednesday, because:

On Wednesday after school I'm going to start home instruction with L!. This is the girl who just about one month ago developed meningitis and it looked like she wasn't going to make it, and then slowly started to get better. I talked to her mother today. It seems that the kid has already finished the book that her regular English teacher sent home while she was in the hospital (I don't get that, but okay), and so I can start right in on the next thing. Now, I've taught very little English over the years since I've been a school librarian, although I am certified in that, too. I did the home instruction in English for K when she was out with the Chronic Fatigue, but since she's my own kid, of course I wasn't paid for it and I didn't grade any of her work. I only offered to do it with L since I felt I wanted to do something for her, and her regular teacher lives about an hour away and wouldn't be able to do it.

I'm pumped for this, really! So incredible that this kid is living, let alone reading John Steinbeck faster than anyone else in her class. I can't wait to see her on Wednesday!

This better be allergies, that's all.
56dF - feels like 70!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Civil War thing - Hubs has remote
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here