the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

On vacation 125

04.22.2003

7:13 pm


Emotional Wreck. You are extremely emotional. You
feel contentment moreso than happiness and your
emotional lows are to the extreme. You need to
cheer up and start enjoying your life. Where
there is rain there is a rainbow and you need
to see it more than others. Do something that
makes you happy.

How Emotional Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

This was not exactly a surprise.
Otherwise, I'm on vacation this week as schools are closed, and I'm working hard to make it a nice one. I'm not so good at this unstructured/down-time thing. Even now, I'm making lists of things I need to do and crossing them off as I do them, and frankly, doing that makes me happy as a clam. Why clams should ever be happy, I do not know.

So I started last Friday with the facial, and today I had a less than wonderful manicure/pedicure, but it was okay. I felt like I'd been dropped into a Seinfeld episode, since I was the only person in the place (early in the day, no other customers) not speaking Korean. I even went back to the gym, where I hadn't been since September -- okay, August -- and got the yoga schedule and made an appointment for my complimentary session with the personal trainer. What a good girl am I!

And baby, I'm shopping. Heavens, do I love to shop. I delight in a day where I have to pick up string at the hardware store, kitty litter at the pet store, a lobster-claw clasp at Michael's, exchange a DVD for K, and get a little of this, a little of that everywhere. I even made a Starbucks stop along the way, so what could be wrong with that?

There was one really big purchase, though: I ordered some new hearing aids, the digital ones, so I may be able to pick out voices in a crowd, and maybe -- this blows my mind -- use the telephone on my right ear! And maybe wear headphones and hear all the music! Should have them in a few weeks, then we'll see. A lot of people have trouble adjusting to the digitals, but they all come with a 30-day return policy, so there's no harm trying.

And making travel plans! I never travel, but here I am, flying all over the place come July. And maybe -- just maybe -- visiting The Mouse while I'm on the move.

And another Idol tonight! All in all, the week is shaping up nicely.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends rerun
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here