the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Better, But Back 157

06.08.2003

7:15 pm

Returned a couple of hours ago from the south, which was not a sunnier clime this weekend, folks, I can tell you that. Although Thursday and Friday were pretty muck okay, if not hot, Saturday was just WETWETWETWETWETWETWET. All day. And there we were, twelve teachers, 180 seniors, and Busch Gardens, from noon to ten p.m.

Or eight, if you prefer. That's when we started shuttling soaked-to-the-skin kids back to the hotel in shifts, since we couldn't reach all the bus drivers, and the day began to deteriorate.

And did I mention that Chum and I were both intensely allergic to, apparantly, everything in Virginia, and took turns hacking up a lung or two every hour for days? (It did not, however, cause us to smoke less. Well, I smoked less, but she didn't. Really, I mean it.) And then, the lovely rain.

So now I'm sick, or maybe I just haven't breathed in enough clean New Jersey air yet to clear out the allergies. We shall see.

In the meantime, congratulations to two of my most favorite diary writers, marn and weetabix for winning the Diarist awards. Neato!

Since I'm possibly going to try to get things back on track here -- do laundry, eat, like that -- it may be a few days until I catch up on all my reading. I did miss you guys! Glad to be back.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Futurama
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here