the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Free at ... uh, wait 167

06.19.2003

7:38 pm



I just got home from this year's graduation at the high school, where, mercifully, I was nowhere near the ceremony itself. My graduation night duty is in the main office, and once the kids leave building and head for the football field, I'm done. The ceremony's still going on -- if I could hear like a normal person, I could probably stand in my front yard and hear the names over the loudspeaker, about a half mile away -- but I'm home.

Tomorrow is the last day for staff, and once that's done, well, so am I. I'm not working at all this summer, as I usually have, at least for a few weeks. I've always done that to get things ready for the fall, even if I wasn't getting paid for it. I don't want to do that anymore. Really, if my principal, board, and central administration had a plan to demoralize and burn out staff, they couldn't be doing it any more effectively. But enough of that.

So tomorrow, a barbecue for lunch, tinged with a bit of sadness, since our chief cook for the last 20 years -- a chemistry teacher, by the way -- is retiring, and this will be his last stand at the grill. Then on Saturday, before dawn, Chum heads up to her vacation home in New England for the summer, so I'll miss her too. We don't know what we did before email; sometimes, we email several times a day while she's gone. Neither one of us has youthful enough reflexes for IMing.

Well, a short, pointless entry, really; I just hadn't written anything yesterday so I wanted to get something in. No idea why.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here