the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Gracefully 188

07.20.2003

6:33 pm



Some -- okay, many -- years ago, I realized that all the top players on the Yankees were younger than I was. It was the first time I had a sense that there were age markers, sort of like benchmarks that put age into perspective. It was like when I realized that my father must be old, since they had elected a new pope, and he was younger than Jack was.

So far, I've passed all the age requirements for the House of Representatives, the Senate, and even the Presidency.

Then there was the day that I realized that one of my students was the offspring of a former classmate.

Last winter, I was visiting in the Child Care and Development classroom, and the teacher in charge called over a little girl to say hello to me. She was that same student's daughter. This means that she is the granddaughter of a fellow classmate.

I'm not so much bothered by any of this as I am amused. My aunt taught for 43 years in the same small town, so she naturally saw three generations pass before her.

There are three members of the high school staff -- colleagues -- who graduated with my oldest nephew. I remember them as students, too. Well, they're almost 30 now anyway. That's okay.

On the last day of school in June, I was introduced to a young woman who'll be on our staff in September, teaching science. I introduced myself, by first name, but then she said she'd gone to the high school, too. I didn't remember her, but I don't remember all of them. Then she asked about my daughter, R. How does she know R? Were they in school together?

Well, she explained, R was a year behind her in high school. But they knew each other when they were younger. They were in daycare together.

Oooh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Romy & Michelle's High School Reunion
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here