the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Have I Been? 201

08.06.2003

10:15 am

Right here. Where would I go?

I haven't written a real entry for several days, although I've been faithfully reading all of yours, and although I haven't written, I have thought about it a lot, and wondered why I haven't written.

I couldn't think of anything to say.

That's part of it, anyway. Although I did have an interesting visit with the MIL/FIL on Sunday, when traveled to see them at an oddly skewed time to avoid the Sunday Garden State Parkway traffic. You may recall my debacle -- if I can call it that -- with them over the non-notice they seemed to take of my father's death, and my personal resolution of that issue. I don't know if the Hubs ever said anything to them or not, and they still didn't come up with the "I'm sorry" I'd been looking for, but damn if they weren't as good to me as they could possibly be on Sunday, very warm and loving. At one point, the girls and I were sitting at the table with the FIL, and he commented on how good it was to have his girls there -- all three of us. Aww. So whatever the hell happened, it wasn't a reflection of their feeling for me -- I never really thought it was -- it was just some weird crap in them. I'm over it.

I've been reading about the sad losses of Axel's Dad and Marn, reluctant to take my little Q back to the vet for her needed bloodwork. She's been on an antibiotic for over a month now, treating a bizarre raging infection that looks like it's improving, but could turn out to be a pre-cancerous thing. I'd like to hope that she's just better now. At least she's eating again, so it looks good. I am always amazed at how these creatures take possession of us, and I grieve with those friends and their losses.

I think I haven't been writing because I haven't had anything to write about I've been doing some other creative-type things and it's sucking out all my creative energies in other directions. Not that this is a bad thing. First, I printed out a whole lot of the pictures that I've been putting on my fotolog and making scrapbooks, one for Sibs of the stuff in her yard, and one for Hubs for his September birthday. Sibs' is a small one, only 8 pictures, but I've taken more than 80 in our yard and had to narrow them down to 24 for Hubs' book, and then do the layouts, gluing in, etc. So that's a good project; perhaps I'll put in a picture of that.

And no, not much more progress on the basement, but I did put up a new set of shelves in the bathroom and stack everything neatly and use cunning little lined baskets from the Container Store and even a wicker hamper from **gasp** Ikea. Yes, I went to the new Ikea. Can anyone say sensory overload? Holy. Cow. They say it's the second biggest Ikea in the country, and I don't doubt it. It was just a bit ... too much.

But here's the fun thing I did.



This took a lot longer that you might imagine, since I'm incapable of hanging anything straight, ever, and they kept falling off the walls. Now they're hanging and are also stuck on with museum putty. And over here



I figure by the time we're married for 50 years, we may have a house full of actual wood furniture and with real decorations on the walls. Up till now it's mostly been Ikea, particle-board, and posters. Working on it.

Nonetheless, I will try to keep up with my diary. I love my diary.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here