the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How Much Time? 205

08.10.2003

4:18 pm

Summer must be over. Either that or some perverse fairy godmother waved her wand here yesterday and turned everyone into a raging bitch.

Raging, really, is an overstatement; bitch is fine. All I needed them to do was come with me to Sears to pick up their new glasses so I could leave off mine (just picked up, made wrong), but no, this one wants to go pick up some stuff here, and that one doesn't want to go anywhere, especially Sears, and she hasn't had anything to eat. There's a cure for that now, right? When you're 19 and you're hungry and you get reasonably good grades, you're supposed to be able to problem-solve this one for yourself, right?

Sunday. R was supposed to spend the whole day in the city today, and is leaving for a road-trip to Arizona tomorrow. She'll be back next Tuesday -- flying in, home around midnight -- and then Wednesday, bright and early, we all take off for Washington in a rented minivan full of K's stuff. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, it's back to school time.

So, then, this is their last weekend at home together until Christmas, when R comes home from school in Wales. Oh right, one of them is going to live in freakin' Europe for a year. Last weekend. Bitchy. Both of them. Sometimes me too, but mostly them.

I don't have to be Freud to figure it out; I mean, I figure that kids go bitchy-nuts just before they go off to college to kind of ease the separation anxiety, as in I-won't-miss-my-parents-so-much-if-I-fight-with-them-just-before-I-go, but honestly.

You: don't spend the day in the city with your friends. Stay home and spend it with your sister, dammit.

You: eat something. Dammit.

I has spoken.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching some movie - K's choice
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here