the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Labor = Tomorrow 223

09.01.2003

6:45 pm

Back to school tomorrow for me. As I've mentioned before, it is really weird that teachers only work 10 months of the year; there's an odd sense that one day I'll grow up and have a real job, like the rest of the world. Now having said that, and apologizing in advance to all of you who have real jobs and work all round the year:

idon'twannagopleasedon'tmakemegoyoucan'tmakemeiwannastayhome withdr.philandnevergobacktoworkeverevereverbutidostillwannagetpaidokay?

Ahem. Ahem. Better now. All grown up, thank you. Clothes laid out, school bag packed. I'm going. It's not like I have a choice.

Years ago, when I was having babies and raising little ones, people would ask me all the time why was I still working when I had babies at home? (People really are morons, right?) So I would answer: "Baby wants to eat, mommy's gotta work." So I say to you now: "Babies want to go to college, mommy's gotta work." So, yes, I'm going, I'm going.

I haven't so much been sleeping lately, and you know what I get like when I don't sleep. The curious thing is that Sibs is suffering from the same thing. Now, the bounty of our genetic soup has always been divided this way: she got Shirl's lousy stomach, and I got Jack's insomnia. The bad stomach's been creeping up on me too for the last few years -- okay, twenty -- thirty, but not as bad as Sibs' -- and now the insomnia's coming to fruition for her too. But tomorrow we're both going back to work, and now it gets serious. This is new for her; she's never had it before during the school year. For both of us, it means going to bed at a normal hour and getting up two hours later, bored and awake, and not being able to fall asleep til quite late. For me that's two or three a.m.; later for her. And then we both wake up at 5:30 or so to go to school.

Let me tell ya, it dulls the senses. I went out briefly this morning on a wild goose chase (Office Depot -- Staples -- another Staples -- never found what I was looking for) and realized somewhere out there that I probably should not have been driving. I wasn't sleepy. But I wasn't altogther ... sharp. That's a .... brain cloud, right, a brain cloud.

What else? I just had a DiGiornio pizza for dinner. Not bad. The offical review, however, is that it tastes nothing whatsover like a take-out pizza. Thought you'd like to know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here