the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not as good as 269

10.29.2003

6:09 pm

trinity's, but I got an obscene phone call at school today. Only it took me a few minutes to realize it.

I answered the phone when Colleague was at lunch and the SCM -- on a roll today, baby -- had left early and it was just me and hordes of password-forgetting children annoying the crap out of me while I was trying to get something done. I heard an accented voice -- Indian, perhaps? -- of what seemed to be a grown man; in fact, he identified himself as the father of one of our new students, a boy I believe is from India. Remember, I got me a hearing impairment, so I have trouble with accents, especially on the phone.

He asked if the library had something -- it sounded like he said Playboy, which didn't make any sense -- and then he said something else, which I didn't get either. So naturally, I asked him to repeat it. At which point he said he wants to know if the library gets Penthouse because he wants to jack off.

I was so surprised it took me a minute to hang up. And then there was no one to tell! The ickiest thing, really, was that he used a kid's name. It was probably some other kid (and why wasn't he in school?) looking to get the named kid in some kind of trouble. The named kid, who is, as I say, new, seems relatively bright and polite, and pleasant, and is a nice-looking boy. But I think devoid of any street smarts whatsover. Get this one:

The other day he was in the library during his lunch period, at a computer, and then left when the bell rang. He came back a little while later and asked if I had seen his wallet. Where was his wallet? He had taken it out of his pocket and put it on the table next to the computer, and then forgot it when he left. This is like a half hour or more later. So I said, "You just left your wallet out on the desk and you thought it would be here when you got back?" In all innocence, he did. Now I'm not saying there are a lot of kids who would just steal someone's wallet, but when you leave it out in a public place like that, anything can happen. I wonder where he actually is from.

Anyway, time to bring him to someone's attention tomorrow, in case an ass-whumping is just around his corner. Not that that goes on a lot here either, but kids are kids, and stuff happens.

Elsewhere, how are all the local elections where you are? Here, I think this is the ugliest, dirtiest election I have ever seen. Radio commericials and mailings abound, and all they say is that everyone else is a liar. Can't anybody explain why he or she is the best candidate? It's disgusting. I guess it particularly got to me when I heard a commercial that such-and-such a county freeholder had "stolen" acres and acres of public land, and this guy is the father of my student L, the kid who almost died last year and is such a stalwart in my GSA, and I feel so bad that she has to see this crap. She says it doesn't bother her; he's been in politics all her life. Even so. This is a guy I saw with a broken heart when his child was so ill. I'm not saying he isn't a Republican, but I know where he lives and I really don't see how he's "stolen" anything. Politics sucks big time, that's all.

As for the SCM, he remains insane, today especially. What can I say? He had some interviews planned today for a committee he chairs that selects one kid a year for an honor, and the thought of changing his schedule does not come easily to him. One of the kids told him yesterday that her grandmother died and the funeral was today, and he said he was sorry, and sorry that she would miss the interview. Really. But the kid's mother called the Psycho this morning, who was on an upswing, apparantly, and told him to re-schedule. He did.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here