the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm Back 277

11.08.2003

4:44 pm

And I've been here all along. The DVD burning thing is good, because it's been pre-occupying me, which I've needed the last few days. But I'm also glad to see that I can read diaries use the Internet and other programs and it doesn't disrupt the process. I've got my computer set up now so it looks something like Doc Brown's laboratory, and I've been nervous about overusing the computer's resources and having everything cut out in the middle of ... okay, too much information.

In fact, life has been relatively unpleasant since Wednesday, although things are much calmer now. I should have handled it better. I mean, at first, it was just work, and it's not as if I didn't know the Psycho was a Psycho, and would some day turn her gaze in my direction. And she did. Except I got it in a memo typed late Tuesday, so she wasn't even there on Wednesday for me to clear it up with. And I guess she won't be there Monday, since the memo calls for a Tuesday meeting.

Here are the events of the last several days, in brief:
  1. First thing Wednesday morning, Colleague (who is, remember, the library secretary) came in and went absolutely insane. Seems that the Psycho had dumped on her Tuesday after the SCM and I both left, and now Colleague was venting like a busted steam engine. This is what she does. She felt much better afterward.
  2. There were about four weird work incidents in the first hour of the day, including my realization that the new vice-principal thinks every word out of the Psycho's mouth is gospel (won't she be surprised one day) and that she hasn't a clue what the library is there for.
  3. The next incident was a confrontation with a secretary in guidance (and I do not confront, people) but I stood up for myself and felt good about it. Unfortunately, this episode made me so made that
  4. I began to move books around in the library with a whole lot of anger and aggression, getting madder and madder (and I don't do that either), including at Colleague for starting this off with insanity and getting me all wound up, at which point I realized that
  5. I needed to go to the nurse's office and have my blood pressure checked.
  6. It was high. She sent me home, and suggested I call my doctor. I called, and went there on my way home.
  7. So now I'm on blood pressure medication, since Wednesday, as well as two meds for gastric reflux, which I was going to the doctor on Thursday anyway to ask him about.
  8. Are you still with me? And then on Thursday I went to a new dentist and found out that my toothache since July is in actuality ... a toothache! Imagine that. So I went through the whole sinus thing, prednisone and antibiotics, for absolutely nothing. There's a cavity underneath an old crown. So he'll fix it, except I couldn't get an appointment until December 2. Pending the Psycho meeting on Tuesday, I think I'll just re-schedule that appointment for whenever I damn well please, instead of when I won't have to miss too much time on a work day.
And I could go on and on, about how much I hate where I work and this is how rah-rah teachers get their enthusiasm killed, but you get the point. And I'll probably write that entry on Tuesday, anyway. Suffice it to say that, like many of my fellow teachers, I have begun to count the minutes until retirement. And that sucks, and it makes me mad. And it's four years -- or maybe five -- and that sucks too.

Okay, here's my Five.

1. What food do you like that most people hate?
Spinach, brussel sprouts. I don't have any really strong food likes, except macaroni and cheese, and who doesn't like that?

2. What food do you hate that most people love?
Steak. And bananas, which seems to be a common answer. However, in my younger days, I found that I enjoyed bananas when I was stoned. Generally, the smell nauseates me.

3. What famous person, whom many people may find attractive, is most unappealing to you?
More than anyone, probably Brittney Spears. She is just a disgusting slut; if she's not a slut, she's doing too good a job impersonating one to be taken seriously. Not fond of Madonna, and Justin Timberlake, I just don't see it.

4. What famous person, whom many people may find unappealing, do you find attractive?
Patrick Stewart. (You knew that.) I suppose that many people would find him unappealing because he's bald, but I really have no idea. I'm not looking at his hairline.

5. What popular trend baffles you?
Okay, I saw this on the Today show this morning, twice. The way that the news media immediately jumps on anybody who's been involved in anything and tries to get their side of the story, even while the facts are still being sorted out, especially kids. This morning they interviewed a kid who was nabbed in that drug raid on a South Carolina high school (which was repulsive) and basically took his side (he didn't do anything wrong!) and maybe he didn't, but shouldn't we be letting the courts figure that out? And then, this travesty: a boy, maybe 13 or 14, grabbed a girl in the school hallway and gave her a hickey, and she's pressing charges and the school official handled it inappropriately. I'm sure his parents have the lawsuit in the works, but honestly, the kid was a moron, shouldn't have been on television, and shouldn't have done it, and now he's the hero, sonhow, but why does such a thing get so much attention? Can't anyone just do something and take the reward or the punishment without it becoming a national issue?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Saturday Night Live on Comedy Central
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here