the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh, there's no place like 291

11.23.2003

4:25 pm

home for the holidays. It was too long for a title.

So I'm getting the house ready for Thanksgiving as if I'm actually having real company. The company, of course, is K, who's coming home on Tuesday, when I will probably not write a diary entry, since I'll be going to the train station right from work and then probably to the supermarket from the train, to pick up all sorts of goodies for her. I don't think she's been eating so well at school this semester. She's needs to chub up a bit. No, no eating disorders among me and mine; sometimes, we're just too lazy to make ourselves food.

So I tidied up a bit in her room, shoving all of R's boxes and whatnot into the finally cleaned out closet, and made up the sofa bed. So K can now even have a friend or two over to visit and entertain in her own room. For us, members in good standing of Clutterers Anonymous (if only!) this is a big deal. And then I put the new slipcovers on the living room chairs. The place is actually taking shape. We've only lived here for 18 years.

Funny how excited I am that one of my kids is actually coming home! I've probably said this before, but this thing about having grown daughters is very very cool. When I talked to her a little while ago she asked if I wanted to go see that movie "Love, Actually" when she's home. Well, yes. Yes, I do.

Excellent.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Sister Act
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here