the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I don't have malaria 309

12.14.2003

9:51 am

and I'm not sick, so it must be the menopause-with-a-vengenance thing. Hot, cold, hot, cold. Wear a sweatshirt, take it off. Get down to the tank top layer. Shake with cold. Start over.

Anyway, so having survived my surreal Friday, I did indeed come home and get K's computer up and running. I got one shitass less than helpful tech at Dell at one point, but otherwise, Renato in Panama and Levi in the Phillippines were quite helpful and patient. All I have left for today -- and I left it for today -- is to reinstall all the software.

And as they say in the old country, mitendrinnen, (in the middle of everything), R called Friday since she can't IM anymore because her computer is completely and utterly dead. She was getting a new one right after Christmas anyway, but now it looks like maybe before. Instead of taking the afternoon off on Thursday to get K at the train, I'll take a whole personal day and go computer shopping with R in the morning. YAY! Two days to R, four days to K!

So what did I do yesterday? Not a whole lot. I went to the supermarket and then took a much needed 2 hour nap (right) and did ultimately hoist myself off the couch and wrap all the gifts. By the way, I finished all my gift shopping on Friday for three hours. Which is to say, I picked up sleep pants for R and Old Navy at the actual mall right after school, and then I WAS DONE! Until the email from Amazon three hours later that a calendar I ordered for the Hubs is out of stock, I'm done. I'm not done. I'm confused.

I'm finally getting around to the Friday Five as well, which you'll find below this quiz. I was not surprised by the answer. I loved Nemo and Dory, but I identified strongly with Marlin through the whole thing.

You are MARLIN!
What Finding Nemo Character are You?

brought to you by Quizilla

1. Do you enjoy the cold weather and snow for the holidays?
It should snow Christmas Eve, cover everything, and then melt while we drive down to South Jersey, snow again while we're there and be gone when we drive home. Hey, it looks nice, and if no one had to drive, I wouldn't care. I don't enjoy cold weather at all, I hate it, I never want to wear a jacket or coat. Yet I think I would be disoriented if I lived some place that never got cold. The change of seasons seems normal. Although I seriously hate it getting dark at 4:30.

2. What is your ideal holiday celebration? How, where, with whom would you celebrate to make things perfect?
The best ever was right after my brain surgery, twelve years ago. I came home from the hospital on December 24. I had gotten all the presents, wrapped and everything, before I went in a week earlier. Christmas morning, I woke up, Hubs helped me into the living room, and I watched the kids open their stuff. I felt incredibly joyful and glad to be alive. And then I got out of going to dinner at my in-laws'! My parents came and kept me company while the Hubs and girls were there. (I insisted they go; that was fine.) Generally, just to be with the family is all I need.

3. Do you do have any holiday traditions?
Probably too many. We've always spent Christmas Day with my in-laws, since my family is Jewish. Last year's weather put it off until the Saturday after Christmas, and this year that's the plan. That's weird.

The girls have stockings that my sister-in-law had made for them when they were little. We decorate the tree in the same way every year: Hubs puts it up and puts the lights on, I take the ornaments out of their boxes and hand them over to the girls, they hang them. There are certain ones reserved for each of them to hang. If the wrong sister touches a given ornament, it's war!

Then there are the Chanukah traditions. I think I'll write about that next week.

4. Do you do anything to help the needy?
Not as much as I should, or as I'd like to. There's a wonderful shelter in nearby Paterson that does amazing work, and I try to give something substantial to them at the end of the year.

5. What one gift would you like for yourself?
I can honestly say that right now, nothing. I used to have issues with the gift thing, and aside from my mother-in-law and the annual pink sweaters, I got past them. It used to bother me that I went all out and got thoughtful, personal, special things for everyone, and I got crap. By crap, I mean, thoughtless, impersonal, ordinary. The cost or price couldn't matter less. I would always be dissapointed in a sea of happy people, and so I would check the glass again -- hmm, still half-full -- and figure that well, my birthday is coming, so I'll get something nice then. The Hubs has hit the birthday pretty well here and there, but not regularly, just once in a blue moon. So about five years ago, I decided to get myself a nice birthday present each year. I put aside my extra cash for as long as it takes, and when I've got it, including whatever birthday check my parents always gave me, I got myself a present. This year, I had the cash early and there was a good sale, so I got myself an iPod last month. Having a ball with that.

What I'm not accustomed to is that my kids are old enough to get us gifts, one from each of them. They used to get a single gift for mommy from both, and one for daddy, and they took turns picking them out. (One year K had mommy's birthday and daddy's Christmas, and so on.) Now they're all grown up, and they each shop and buy. All I know is that K says I'll really love what R is bringing for me from Wales. That's so sweet.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Meet the Press (??)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here