the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

On the topic of K 316

12.22.2003

9:02 pm

She's intriguing me at the moment.

First, she came home from college last week with the end of a nasty cold that she's still got, and despite being sick once for a year and a half, she's not good sick. She's rather like my mother in that she thinks the best cure for everything is to be poor-little-me and do nothing until it goes away. This did not work for Shirl. Generally, I don't think it works for anyone.

Anyway. So she started working today, where she worked in the summer, in a record store, and spent a long long day on her feet. Gotta give the kid credit for that.

She's sitting behind me on the couch, knitting, which her sister taught her to do the other day. (I don't knit, never could, although I've always been most crafty otherwise.) She mentions that she never got her last grade, in Medieval European History -- her major, by the way, European History -- and looks for a DVD to pop in to watch.

She pops in The Lion in Winter, which I purchased for cheap in a Katherine Hepburn frenzy this past summer. And proceeds to tell me, while she's knitting, the history and background and relationships between Eleanor and Henry, all their sons, Aquitaine in general, kings of France, and so on. Just now, Hepburn as Eleanor of Aquitaine had an amusing line, and I heard the kid chuckle behind me.

Well, I hope she got a good grade because boy, she sure knows this shit. I'm intrigued. And impressed.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Lion in Winter
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here