the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Scribbling 357

02.03.2004

5:56 pm

Having poor luck today with comments, notes, and guestbooks, and here I am, full of things to say.

gem-chan, sweetie, I am 100% ready-to-retire-but-not-quite-there-yet librarian. And your conversations with your mom always make me laugh.

golfwidow: When you find those harmless cigarettes, please save a pack, nay, a carton, for me. I miss it more now than when I stopped in August.

auntie-mari: Candles scare the crap out of me. I rarely light them because I won't leave the room if one is burning, except for Chanukah candles, since they burn down in 15 minutes, and I feel kind of obligated to light them. When I see decorative candles in all of these made-over rooms on TV, I think they're death-traps. Glad your fire got put out so fast.

cosmicrayola, I've always listened to the oldies station on the radio, and when my kids were little, one of them asked me if I knew the words to all the songs that had ever been written. I answered "Yes. Yes I do." But I don't really go back much earlier than 1962 or so -- I have an older sister -- and up til about 1975. I suppose there may be one or two that I've missed.

needisaymore et al: I think we should all go off to our own corner of the playground and make up our own stories. So there.

strangerlucy: Heavens, what's worse than chinlawn? The thought of MY EARS GETTING BIGGER! When I was a kid, I was so freaked out by old people's enormous ears! GAAGHHH!! Let me not grow enormous ears!

sunnflower, my kids, for who knows what reason, felt free to write on the walls (and ceilings) of their bedrooms. Granted, it's not as if we had ever painted them or anything, and it was creative, but it looks pretty peculiar, if you ask me.

trinity: Still laughing, still laughing. And thanks again. ;)

l-empress: My K and I are in the subset of humans who do not have the genes for math, as were my sister and even my father (an accounting major) before me. R, like the Hubs, gets numbers and all those concepty things. But even she was stymied by the newest math trend, which appeared when she was in high school: keeping a math journal. What was this anyway, her secret thoughts, hopes and dreams about polynomials? And I had the same experience at a Burger King once when their computers were down. When did they stop teaching cashiers to count backwards in order to make change?


Finished up that root canal today. We'll see.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching news
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here