the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Stumping 359

02.04.2004

6:50 pm



I didn't give much thought to the individual democratic candidates until a couple of weeks ago, other than having a vague unease about Dean and the usual scared of Sharpton. I started reading up on them all the night before the Iowa caucuses, and with a little uncertainty, I thought "Maybe Gephardt."

That's what you get for taking a stand too soon. He was out within 48 hours. I was more careful the next time: not sure about Clark, not deciding between Kerry and Edwards, still uncomfortable with Dean.

There was an article in the USA Today on Tuesday that showed, according to a poll, that Kerry is currently ahead of Bush, if they held the election now.

Now that's the kind of candidate I can get behind. That's the most important qualification to me, that he stands a chance of beating Bush. I backed Humphrey in 68, McGovern in 72, and Dukakis whenever the hell that was. I've only voted for the winner twice (okay, three times, but two of them were for Clinton) and I'd like to back a winner again. I read over a whole lot of Kerry's website this morning, and I liked most of what I saw there. Even if I only liked 5% of it, it would still be more than I like about Bush, so there you go.

Here was one of my favorite parts of his website. In his 100 Days to Change America program, he plans to

End the �Era of Ashcroft�
John Ashcroft has launched an all-out assault on individual rights, allowing for a wholesale invasion of attorney-client conversations, e-mails and telephone calls. Immediately after the election, John Kerry will name a new Attorney General whose name is not John Ashcroft. We will also fight to protect women�s rights, civil rights and workers rights and enforce anti-trust laws.


Again, a candidate I can support.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here