the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Kvetching Again 361

02.06.2004

5:34 pm

Well, I can't do the Friday Five this week because taking risks is simply not my game. I saw the questions here and there and I just don't think I can answer them. The biggest risk I ever took was ... I signed up for a course in Statistics in graduate school. Okay, maybe not that, but then I don't know what. My life story is that I suck the risk out of anything before I do it, otherwise it wouldn't be safe to do.

Really cool GSA meeting yesterday, but since I'm feeling icky today, I'll cover that tomorrow. The doctor changed my cholesterol medication last week, and for the last few days I've been having heartburn and headaches, which, since I take other meds for gastric reflux and blood pressure, I don't generally get anymore. So either it's the cholesterol med or I've been having a continuous mild heart attack for the last few days, which seems unlikely even to hypochondriacal me. Talked to the doc this morning from work, he made med changes, and then I felt so crummy I just came home. Napped off an on for a couple of hours. Ate little bits of everything all day. I intend to feel fine tomorrow.

The weather today hit a heinous high, or low, if you prefer. It's in the thirties, raining slush, essentially, and as the sun is going down as I type, it's about to freeze solid over everything, including the snow that's still sitting there from last week. Hubs should be home any minute now, which will be a relief. I can't stand the thought of anyone I know out there driving on these roads. Not that I want people I don't know to be in accidents; it's just harder to get worked up over them.

BTW, I've about had it with Oprah's 50th birthday; how about you? I get it: she's incredibly rich, has rich friends, and knows every celebrity in the whole world. I believe her birthday party guests included Brad Pitt and Nelson Mandela, or some other such major humanitarian from South Africa. It's starting to make my 50th birthday party last year look sad and sick, and boy I loved that day. I get her, I just don't get her point in flaunting her incredible wealth to everyone in the whole world who can never hope to have a micro-speck of what she's got. I'm just saying.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching news
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here