the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Day Two. Moo. 370

02.17.2004

6:23 pm

I'm feeling like Elsie, the contented cow. Here's what I did today:



On the left, that is. I went to the accountant, bought my traveler's checks, and all kinds of other good little errands there under the lovingly even cross-outs. Hi, I'm Chai. I'm a control freak. But it makes me so happy.

Tomorrow is a full day with the Sibs; with any luck, it won't snow more than a few inches. That's what they're predicting, and we're going anyway, so there. The real lesson I'm learning with each successive school break, though, is that I could really get used to this on a full-time basis. Not having to go to work is amazing. I know that's not exactly a scientific breakthrough, but in truth, for the last 27 years, I've mostly liked my work and even thought I enjoyed a vacation like everyone else, I never had a major problem going back at the end of the week, or the end of the summer. Now, each break is like a tease of things to come, but not yet. It would be very nice if the Psycho retired and I could look forward to being there on a daily basis. Sometimes, I get so angry at her for doing this, to me and many others: making us hate a job we always felt relatively good about. Other times, I just wish I could leave. I could stay home and turn videotapes into dvds all day. I could do errands. I could micromanage the cats.

I could pack for any upcoming trips. I started packing today. Aaaaaahhhhhhh. That feels soooo good.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching King of Queens
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here