the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No Five 397

03.26.2004

6:16 pm

No Friday Five today. I could pick an old one that I never did, but I wasn't having luck with that so I gave up. And let me say that I could easily see how the Fivers are getting sick of thinking of these things every week, but I have always enjoyed it so, and appreciate their efforts.

I thought I'd go back to having a coffee latte (sort of -- my own creation) with breakfast this morning, and as a result, I basically used up my allotted points for the day by 3:00.

Thank god for those flexible whatever point things. I can have dinner after all.

After I got home from work (and scarfed up those last points) I was lost. I finished HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban last night, since I'm on some kind of HP spree, having re-read The Order of the Phoenix last week too, so here I was without a book at hand, nothing I could eat, nothing I needed to go out and get. So listen to what I did: I started shampooing the living room carpet.

I'm shocked, too. This is me, after all. Cleaning! What could have caused such a thing?

I had really thought that by now the Hubs and I would have just torn it up off the floor in a fit of "Can't Stand It Any More!" The cat smell, I mean. But really, why get rid of the carpet while the cats are here? They'd just ruin whatever else we put there. And I want some furniture in my living room, man! I've been married for 26 years; I think it's time to go for some living room furniture that matches and didn't come from some relative. The first step is to make the room fit for real furniture. Hence, clean the carpet. I think I'll go visit the furniture I'm looking at in the store tomorrow for a little added incentive.

I'm between Potters, it's true, but Al Franken's book, Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them, which I started listening to the other day, is very good. For those of you out there who don't believe a word said by the prez, his cronies, and the conservative press -- you know who you are -- Franken not only agrees, he's done the research. And he's funny. I just can't listen to audiobooks when I'm home. I'll have to take a road trip tomorrow so I can listen in the car.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dharma & Greg
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here