the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

and the good news is 399

03.30.2004

5:23 pm

I don't have to take the diuretic anymore. WOOO FREAKING HOOO!

The odd random pains in my right leg are neither a stroke nor a thrombosis nor anything else serious or bad. Excellent.

I'm having a much better diet day today. I think knowing that I've got to weigh in tomorrow morning is a really good incentive to not eat extra stuff today. I've been so good on points that I have room for ice cream later, if I want it.

And Satan's High School took an interesting turn today. I don't know if I've mentioned before that we recently passed a referendum in town which is going to build another wing onto the school, including a new library. Up until a year ago, this would have been my professional dream come true. Now it mostly just seems like a lot of work and chaos, especially after I looked at the tentative floor plan and saw that it was a nightmare. However. This morning, the Psycho called -- in Good Psycho mode today -- and said she'd just gotten a call and I need to meet with the architects and tell them what the library should have. Tomorrow. Fortunately for one and all, good little anal type that I am, I've been thinking about this for years. I even have a diagram left over from when the referendum failed last year. Of course, I fully expect the architect, not to mention the superintendent of schools, to laugh their asses off when I tell them what we need. Let them. These are the idiots who made up a preliminary floor plan for the new wing in which the library is adjacent to the band room. That's planning for you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here