the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

As it turns out ...

05.24.2004

8:38 pm

Daily exercise is maybe not so good for you after all. Or maybe it's just not good for me. I had put a moratorium on the situps last week, since my back was acting up, but I went back to it yesterday, and again this morning. Achh. Random back spasms all day. This after a good solid three hours' sleep. I am so zombied out right now. After a day of speaking about my most hated topic to the senior class and the staff, and a meeting with the architects of the new library, who, frankly, are idiots. Part of the plan looks so so nice, and then there's the only-one-exit dilemma. Now by state law there has to be more than one -- three, in fact -- so there are three doors. They all open onto the same dead-end corridor, right above the school's new main entrance. Uh .... well, gee. If there's a fire (or worse) right there, right in the corridor outside the library, then what? We can get out of the library all right, but then where? Am I the only one here who's heard of disasters having taken place in high school libraries? Sheesh.

I think I'm going to sleep now. Funny, when I was a little kid, just about the worst thing I could think of was having to go to bed on summer nights before it was dark. Now? Where's that bed?



What Flavour Are You? I taste like Peanut Butter.I taste like Peanut Butter.

I am one of the most blendable flavours; I go with sweet, I go with sour, I go with bland, I go with anything. I am practical and good company, but have something of a tendency to hang around when I'm not wanted, unaware that my presence is not welcome. What Flavour Are You?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Bravo
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here