the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Happy Gaudeamus Igitur Day 465

06.21.2004

6:55 pm

When I was in high school, back when togas were all the rage, Mrs. Heffler taught us the words to the graduation march in Latin, but all I really remember is the first line: Gaudeamus igitur. It means, according to the website where I just looked it up since I didn't remember, "Let us rejoice." Which seems an appropriate literal translation for a phrase that really means "Thank God I am getting the hell out of high school."

I just got back from graduation at Titanic Public High School ("where every learning experience is like being on a sinking ship" -- no, it's not our official motto, but it should be), where my evening's duty sort of evaporated and all I had to do was be there. Tomorrow is just a faculty day, complete with final faculty meeting and barbecue, followed by the ceremonial Issuing of The Last Paycheck Until September. I'm getting all sarcastic-like here, but of course I am looking forward to being out of there for eight weeks or so. The thing is, at the faculty meeting tomorrow, we'll be taking note of all the people who are leaving the staff, and there are so many this year that I'm anticipating more than a little angst going on for everyone, except The Psycho herself, who will probably be rubbing her hands together in delight and blaming it all on anyone else but herself.

Okay, **slaps self in face**, quit it. Quit it right now.

**Squares shoulders**

Yes, I'm fine now.

Fine.

**Ahem**

Never mind. I'll be back tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here