the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Another Saturday Night 475

07.03.2004

10:52 pm

I don't know how it came out to this, but it is true nonetheless:

Shakespeare Obsession
Shakespeare Obsession

What's Your Obsession?
brought to you by Quizilla

thanks, chaos!

I don't get this one, though:

In your past life, you were a beggar
Begging for money on the street and scammering
through the gabage for what little scraps of
food you could get, life was tough. At least
now you don't take anything for granted

Who were you in your past life?
brought to you by Quizilla


I've been hearing fireworks for three nights in a row now. Since this is an illegal fireworks state, and I'm hearing LOTS of them, it means that at least two neighboring towns have set off displays big enough for me to hear, since my town's display was Thursday night. I used to like fireworks when I was a kid, but now I just find the noise disturbing. I haven't been to see fireworks live since ... well, since the Hubs' and my second date, which was July 4, 1971. My OldFriend, who lives in the West Village, goes up on some rooftop every year and gets a great view of the Macy's fireworks over the Hudson River, the big show they always put on TV. Must be really cool, but she's probably not even as close to the actual explosions as I seem to be here where I am, although these are much smaller. Anyway, I'm thinking that the booming sounds like some kind of static to me, or more precisely, like many of the phantom sounds that I hear randomly all the time; it's unsettling because it's taken me awhile each night to realize that what I'm hearing is fireworks, and not thunder or just random ear/head noises.

I just watched To Kill a Mockingbird on TV, and I've decided that this may well be the best movie ever made. I've seen the movie before, of course, and I'm impressed each time. I re-read the book last summer, and oh boy. An amazing book when I read it 30 years ago and even better on re-read. What a wonderful movie.

As long as I'm randomizing here, I thought I'd include a picture of a sight I see every day, all the time, and constantly from about 3 to 5 every afternoon:



Q is simply unable to believe that I am not going to feed her on a continuous basis, and so she stares at me for about two hours before 5:00, which is when the actual food comes out. Lately, I sit at my desk with the side-shelf pulled out on the left, with my feet on a little stepstool under the shelf. If I don't "notice" her sitting a foot away from me, then she'll climb up onto the stool and look up at me from under the shelf. Sometimes she cries. You'd think she wasn't a fat little sack of cat who could live off her own body for weeks. You'd think we were mistreating her, poor little creature who thinks our living room carpet is her litter box. But she's a cutie, isn't she?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1 70s
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here