the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

27 Years, Can You Believe It? 487

07.16.2004

8:00 pm

And to the same woman ... er, man. It was my father's line, whenever he was asked how long he and my mother were married. "35 (or 40, or 52) years! And to the same woman, can you believe it?" So today it's 27 years married to the Hubs. We went out to dinner, and even more remarkably, stopped at the Office Depo on the way there so he could buy some printer cartridges. I'm sure I haven't been in a store with him in ten years. Maybe more. He's so weird.

In honor of our special day, Q got her groove back and barfed on the new rug. I believe I have so far vaccumed these rugs/swept the wood floor/cleaned in general more than I have in ... okay, the last ten years.

My campaign buttons came in the mail yesterday:



I don't so much carry a purse (I hate that word) in the summer, so I had to pin it on me. I'm pretty much always wearing a denim shirt over whatever today's colored tee-shirt is, so I've got a place to put it without risking personal harm.

K's been watching DVDs of that Curb Your Enthusiaasm show. It's very weird. It's one of those shows that is funny, yes, but is almost always embarrassing to watch. I'm very susceptible to this phenomenon; it's probably one of the reasons I was never a great big Seinfeld fan, although I think he's a very funny stand-up. If I'm watching something, even almost a whole show, and there's something that just makes me cringe for the characters, I have to turn it off. Can't take it. So this Curb show is torture. Funny, very, but torture.

Speaking of kids highjacking the TV, it's almost Degrassi time. They have gotten me totally hooked on this cheesy Canadian teen soap opera. Sheesh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi pre-show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here