the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Back in the Saddle ... Again 513

08.17.2004

9:39 pm

Here it is almost 9:30, and I'm only now getting to writing this entry. This is because I've been writing for the last ... oh, four hours or so, but not in the good way. In the work way.

I went into school this morning, where I discovered that, in order to clean the carpets last week, the computer at my desk has been completely disconnected, and that the "new" computer I'm getting is sitting on the nearby table in giant boxes. Hmmm. I'm thinking that a flat-screen monitor, which I was promised, is not so much coming in a giant box. And a whole raft of other miscellaneous not-ready-for-first-day-of-school problems abound, including the fact that the entire circulation/library catalog computer system is non-functional. The network tech, AKA The Only One in the School System Who Knows What's Going On Although He's Young Enough To Be My Child (or, Mike), came by to go over some of my concerns, which was nice of him. And he had to explain a new feature of the network to me, so that I can teach it to kids and staff come ... well, in two weeks. And I've been spending the last few hours writing up the explanation, taking screenshots of different parts of the program, and getting it ready to post on the website. Not so much the fun kind of writing, although the kind I've done a whole lot of in the last 27 or so years. The teaching kind.

Meanwhile, over in Scotland, R will be done with her first play (of 6) by now, which I'm thinking is more like writing of the fun, yet sleep-deprived, kind. This is who her company is and what they're doing. (She's not in the picture.) And K starts to pack tomorrow. Sainted bovine. When I'm 110, I'll still be trying to figure out how I gave birth to these globetrotters. (And not in the tall way.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here