the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ends Tightened 519

08.24.2004

6:03 pm

I'm nearing the curious tying up of loose ends. The summer is drawing to a close, at least figuratively, since summer ends when school starts, no matter what the calendar says. On Thursday, K is leaving for Europe, and is actually all packed, except for a hometown bagel to eat at the airport. The living room is finished. I just got a call that the only piece of furniture I don't have for the family room is in the warehouse, and is being delivered on Saturday.

Even for someone who lives to cross completed items off her To Do lists, it's somehow unnatural actually to have them all crossed off. It's an odd sense of both satisfaction and impending doom. Not that I'm really anticipating doom; it's more like that weird sense that when everything in the world is the way it's supposed to be, then the world can come quietly to its end. I don't really think the world is coming to an end. I'm just saying.

On the postal front, K is certainly going to benefit from my year's experience of sending stuff over to her sister. When R left last September, I started videotaping shows for her off of TV and then copying them onto DVDs. At first, I made real DVDs, with menus and stuff. Between the copying, the disk creation, and the burning, it would take days to make one. At first, I would get disk mailers and send them that way; the first few I sent cost like $12.00 to mail, and I had to fill out that customs form and wait on line in the post office to send them. About six months ago, I realized that I could burn the shows onto a DVD data disk, and stick them in a global priority mail envelope. Took way less time to burn, and only $5.00 to send, although I still had to fill out the form and wait on line. Last month -- last month! -- I realized that I could convert the videos into Windows Media format and that they would fit on a CD, which takes like no time to burn.

Now I've got the ulimate solution: I can fit four half-hour shows on a mini-CD, stick it in a regular air mail envelope, put an 80 cent stamp on it, and drop it in the mailbox. Grr. I wish I'd figured this out oh, about a year ago.

God, I'm boring.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here