the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Am I Going With This? 531

09.08.2004

8:13 pm

To bed, I hope. I wanna go to bed. So what if it's only 7:53? I just hung up from the Sibs, and she was going to bed. We're happening people.

There was all kinds of flooding around here today -- New Jersey has just swum away on a weekly basis since June -- but it passed me by. I went out erranding after school and I was driving around in heavy rain, but nothing more. But the Hackensack River flooded this morning, causing the Hubs to take more than an hour to drive about a quarter mile, and then the Passaic River flooded and the kids at the Sibs' school had to be sent home early on their first day.

The humidity is just killing me, although the headache seems to be gone at last. I've got to find a way to stop waking up at four in the morning, although it's the headaches that have a lot to do with that. Is it time for the first frost yet? I had so much time this morning after I was ready to go but before it was time that I mopped the kitchen floor. The last time I mopped the kitchen floor in the morning before going to work was absolutely never in the known space-time continuum. It does not happen. And yet ...

K posted pictures of her little apartment, and I'd like an opinion:



This is the kitchen, of course, which she says has an oven (see?) but no stovetop. I'm asking, What are all those knobs for, hmmm? Am I the only one who thinks that she probably has to lift up the top that's covering the burners and then there they are? How soon before she figures this out?

The Colleague and the SCM had cause today to look at the website of the high school one town over, and commented that it seemed pretty bare, they couldn't find what they were looking for, etc. I replied that this was probably because no one there had the foresight to hire a compulsive freak to run their school's website, as ours did. (It's ... me. You knew that. But I had to say it anyway.)

Okay, it's 8:10. My lunch is all packed for tomorrow, and my clothes are laid out. I could stay up, but really, what's the point? Oh, right. Four o'clock is just around the corner.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Family Guy
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here