the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Code Red! Code Red! 573

10.27.2004

7:13 pm

Alas it is true; the machines have a Code Red Alert out for poor Ms. Chai. Not only are my magical hearing aids emitting that nasty static, my little computer seems to be very, very sick. It wasn't ever the speediest kid on the block, but now it's so slow that no applications can open themselves before timing out, even the whole My Computer thing, and I'm Control-Alt-Deleting every other minute. This means no more videos to DVD, since that whole process is slow to begin with. The only thing that actually does work is the Internet, but I do have more to do than just that, after all. So I'm staying home from work tomorrow and nursemaiding the computer. I don't know yet if it's hardware or software, but I guess I'll find out. I'm pretty sure that if my hardware is dead I'm supposed to get a whole lot of credit towards a new computer from the Best Bye folks, so we'll see what happens.

The SCM, what a surprise, is pissing me off, so I didn't even tell him at work today that I won't be there tomorrow. I just emailed him. I couldn't bear to watch him go all nuts over how he was going to do something or other at school tomorrow by himself. Actually, what he's got to do is re-connect the video projector, which I don't think he's capable of. He's absolute death to machines. We'll see, we'll see.

In the meantime, and somewhat more importantly, a voting irregularity seems to have reared its ugly head right here in my own home. We always get a sample ballot about a week before each election, presumably so we'll all be able to decide in advance, know exactly what the ballot will look like on election day, and so on. But our sample ballots are wrong. Although our congressional district is correct on the address label, on the sample ballot itself, we're in the wrong district, with the wrong choice of candidates. I double-checked at the Congressional Look-Up site at congress.gov, and we are in the district we thought we were in, and not what it says on the sample ballot. Holy Election Fraud, Batman! I emailed my Congressman -- the real one -- as well as the political science teacher at school, who knows all kinds of people everywhere. I'll call the County Clerk's office in the morning. So keep an ear open Tuesday about a Congressional election being invalidated in New Jersey; that's where I'll be.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here