the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Curiouser and .. 583

11.08.2004

7:13 pm

First, mega thanks to my self-identified stalker, Quirkybook, who didn't leave an email address for me to thank personally, so this is it, for your amusing comment and excellent find! Quirkybook pointed me towards the election results map I've been looking for, and others, here, with explanation, but this is what it looks like:



The sizes of the states have been rescaled according to their population. Look how big New Jersey is! WOO HOO!

In the I-Work-With-An-Insane-Girl department, she actually came in to the library to schedule some classes today, and wisely spoke with the SCM instead of me, and to his amazement, she batted her eyelashes and was all flirty with him, and it creeped him the hell out, and now we're figuring that she's one of those women who's maybe used to working her wiles on men and therefore can't deal as well with women. Lest you think that she is in some way actually coming on to him -- he certainly didn't think so -- remember that she is about 23, and he closely resembles the late actor Michael Jeter, who was an amazing actor, but not known as a matinee idol.

And in the My-Life-Took-A-Wonderful-Turn department, today I took an Advil for the first time in a year, and damned if it didn't just work like it was supposed to. When I went on the blood pressure drug, just about a year ago, the doctor told me not to take decongestants or advil from now on. I woke up this morning with back spasms and really, the tylenol was just not going to cut it. So I called the pharmacist and he said that there's absolutely no reason I can't take advil. So why did the doctor say not to? I have no idea. He'd actually suggested that before, so I guess he has some feeling against ibuprofen, but he really did give me the impression that if I took it with the b.p. stuff I would implode. I took two lousy advil at 9 this morning, and I've got practically no pain all day, as opposed to being in pain, even mild pain, pretty much all the time. Just goes to show. Or something.

Actually, I'm going for the Most Mundane Entry on the Web today. Did I win?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here