the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Holiday Approacheth 593

11.19.2004

4:10 pm

Now really, I wrote this whole Thanksgiving thing a few days ago, but I keep writing other stuff and not posting it, so now I'm posting it. First, a mention that R seems to be feeling much better, what with all the fine medications she's been given as well as -- or especially because of -- the physical therapy. So that's a good thing.

Anyway, before it becomes completely irrelevant, here it is:

To me, Thanksgiving is the Big Holiday of the year. Every other holiday has some religious aspect, and although we observe them in one way or another and enjoy them, I feel as if Thanksgiving and July 4 are the only ones I've got legitimate claim to as a secular melting-pot American. I used to host both of these holidays at my house, but July 4 became impossible as kids moved away and parents got old and sick, so we're down to one, and this one no longer in my house but at the Sibs'. Even so, it's all very Norman Rockwell to me, and it makes me very happy. I've mentioned it here recently, what with the sending of the Traditional Macadamia Nuts to K in Germany and all. I also once wrote about our whole Thanksgiving rigamarole here, including the letter of instructions I sent to J1 the first year he was living in California and couldn't get home for the festivities.

But I'm starting to dig in now; I've pulled out the list of What We Eat And Who Makes What so that the Sibs and I can get it together and I can start my shopping. I want to try to get some of it done ahead of time and frozen over the weekend, if I can. I'm going to try something new -- gasp! -- which is a great coffee cake my mother made when I was a kid, but I'm going to make it in loaf pans. If no one wants it for dessert, everybody can take one home and have it for breakfast. Now, who is this everyone?

It's an interesting group, but it still comes out to our traditional eleven to thirteen people. Missing from that original group are both of my parents, J1, who now lives in California, and K in Germany. Added are my niece J3's fiance, my nephew J2's girlfriend (whom we've known since she was a kid and all love her to pieces), and my sister's husband, The Keeper's, engaged daughter and fiance from New England. R just realized yesterday that she will be the only single person there, except for the The Keeper's 14 year old. I think that makes her a little sad. But I don't think Thanksgiving is for bringing dates unless you're serious -- I could be wrong here -- and she's not dating anyone right now anyway (which I think makes her sad, too.) When we had the July 4 barbecues, anyone could bring anyone, neighborhood kids if they wanted. But this is different. So, we're twelve. I am going to miss my baby like crazy. This better be the last time either of my kids misses Thanksgiving.

Our controversy this year was over the turkey. We had SOOOO MUCH food left last year, and clearly we had no idea how much turkey my father ate at the table and then took home to have for days afterward, so there was a ton of turkey left, more than anything. A few months ago, the Sibs somehow talked me into no turkey this year. At that time, we were planning to be a group of eight or nine, of which the Hubs is a vegan, the 14 year old is a picky eater (still -- he only eats hot dogs), and the Sibs and I are just not turkey lovers. She convinced me that an oven stuffer roaster chicken would be enough, and more people would like it. I caved. I dreaded telling R when she got home from Wales, but I caved.

When she got home, I told her. She had made her own turkey, which was hard to come by, over there last year. So I told her, and she said, "Oh, there will be turkey. I'll make it myself." Yeah, yeah, that's not the issue, but now I found myself between the two, a place I did not like. Finally, I told R that we would certainly have turkey, we'd just bring less of it over there. (The Hubs carves it here at home and then we tote it over there all ... carved.) She was pacified. Then the other day, I braced myself to tell the Sibs that there would be turkey after all, but I would make the chicken too, if she wanted. That's when she told me about J2's girlfriend and the stepdaughter/fiance coming, and she surprised me by saying, "Oh, just make the turkey. Forget the chicken. Just make a big turkey." It was too easy. I think she's not looking forward to having all those people in her house. I would most gladly have it here, but The Keeper is intensely allergic to cats, so that's out. Forever, apparently. :-[

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here