the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Excuses, Excuses 609

12.11.2004

3:13 pm

I didn't write yesterday because from the minute I got home I was doing the whole tape-to-DVD thing and it sucks up computer resources like nobody's business. If I try to do almost anything while I'm either copying the tape or burning the DVD, it just stops dead and locks up the system, so I start it up and then forget I even have a computer. Which always makes me start to wonder: if there were no personal computers, what the hell would I be doing all the time? Cooking? (Heh.) Cleaning? (HAH!) Reading? Crocheting? Who knows?

According to this, which I got from Boxx9000, I'm worth $1,806,852.00. Which seems like a decent amount of change, but then I looked at their list of today's most valuable women, and, dude. I'm not even close. Wonder why, hmm? Oh, I see. There's no one on the list at all over 35. So that explains some of it. And here's a 13 year old with a high school education (?) who has an annual income of $60,000 to $69,000, and who has an IQ of 181. She's worth $2,714,900.00. Now I get it. Lying is a more valued commodity than ... well, than anything, apparantly. I know it's a game, but if you're not really going to play, why bother?

I actually did clean my house today, as futile as that always seems. But I suppose it was the thing to do since we're shoehorning yet another adult in here tomorrow. To which I might add WOOOO HOOOO! I chatted with K online for a bit this morning (they've already collected up her telephone) and tomorrow night she's back.

The Sticky Toffee Pudding, by the way, was out of this world. Or, as my grandmother would say, rolling her eyes and licking her lips, "Zaya Geshmakt!" (Very delicious.) While it was baking, my house smelled like a fairy tale. She made it in two small loaf pans, but this morning I picked up a bundt pan for the next try. (Yes, I probably have a bundt pan in the basement somewhere. Buried. Unfindable. She can take this one with her when she finds her own place to live someday.) She's going to make it again for Christmas, and is even going to make one I can take to work on my dessert day in January. It was remarkably good. I'll get the link to the recipe from her and post it.

In other news, my recent bummed-ness and weight gain turned out to be definitely hormonal. And let me just say, I'm too damn old for this. No? For sure there are women who don't even have a brush with menopause at my age, but I'm not one of them. My dear OldFriend, who is exactly one week older than I am, has only begun to have the occasional hot flash in the last few months. I'm well into my tenth year of this shit. Not hot flashes, specifically, but the whole experience. Enough is enough! Or, as my grandmother would have said with a tone of finality, "Ganug!" (Enough!)

I seem to be quoting Grandma Ida today. So here she is:



That's Grandma on the right, me on the left. Circa 1953. She sure knew how to pose for the camera.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Arsenic and Old Lace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here