the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Good News For Today 644

01.19.2005

5:07 pm

is that my level-headed offspring has decided that our president is bad enough, she wants to give him no more control over her life by making her sick (from the cold), getting her arrested, or getting her blown up. In other words, she's not going anywhere near the inauguration.

And mommy breathes a sigh of relief.

Funny what gets you stressed and what doesn't. This morning, the Hubs could not get his car started. (It's not his car, actually, it's K's, because he doesn't actually have a car anymore. Don't get me started on that one.) He had already decided that he didn't need to drive my car today because we weren't expecting much snow after all, even though he would be driving all over NJ today and tonight. But when I heard the car outside not at all turning over, I went to the front door and told him that he should just take my car anyway, and I would wait for AAA, or even for R to drop me off on her way to work. No big deal. And it wasn't, I wasn't stressed even remotely by any of this. So I took my leisurely time getting ready for work and then went out to make sure it still didn't start before I called anyone and ... you guessed it, it started right up. So I went to work, not even late, really, just not my usual obscenely early. I went out to the car after lunch to check it and it started right up again. So my hopes of this being the thing that finally gets him to buy a new car are dashed. I am certainly married to the only man on earth who needs a new car and has free reign to just go get one, and can't be bothered.

I did not smoke today, in case you were wondering. One cigarette will not turn me back into a daily smoker. I don't know why. I can say I know this for a fact because I've done it before, but when you look at that a little closer, it makes absolutely no sense. I mean, how many times can I actually have quit smoking before we all realize that if I've quit more than once than I've gone back to it more than once? Anyway, one cigarette in ... 16 months, I think, isn't going to do it to me. Let's remember, I did not smoke the day K left for Germany. I'm over-rationalizing it now, aren't I? Yes, I'll stop now.

One of the things I hate most about this kind of cold is when it's cold in unexpected places. You can't get the house really warm, so it's cold inside, too. You bend down to pick up something off the floor and it's colder there. You get up off your chair and walk around for a while and when you come back and sit down the chair is cold. And the toilet seat ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here