the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Stolen Survey 658

02.03.2005

5:53 pm

I got it from LA.

High School Survey

What year was it? 1971

What were your favorite bands or musical artists? The Beatles always. By this time I was a big James Taylor and Carol King fan, and Simon and Garfunkel.

What was your favorite outfit? Bell-bottomed jeans, with an American flag patch over a hole on the rear. My favorite top, which I still have somewhere, was a ribbed, mostly navy, short-sleeved Henley type thing. It was probably a size 5. I weighed about 105 pounds then, and had not yet grown boobage.

What was up with your hair? Waist-length, straight, parted in the middle. I "wrapped" it every night to make it straight.

Who were your best friends? Jessie and Carrie since fifth grade, but we didn't hang out so much anymore by the end of high school. At this point, Ellen, who turned out to be a lousy best friend.

Where did you work? In a neighborhood fabric store, measuring and cutting, and re-stocking the zippers and patterns.

Did you fight with your parents? Almost never that I can recall.

Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on? Let's see, I was over my David MacCallum and Paul McCartney phases by this time ... I've always had a celebrity crush on someone, but I don't remember who it was at this point.

Did you smoke cigarettes? Not until my freshman year of college.

Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack only because you were too nervous to find your locker? Absolutely no one used backpacks for books in 1971. When I got one at an Army-Navy store the next year, I was the only person I knew who had one. My locker was out of the way, so I used Carrie's, even when we weren't close anymore.

Did you have a 'clique'? No, not at all.

Did you have "The Max" like Zach, Kelly, and Slater? No, not at all. There was no place in town like that that anyone went to.

Admit it, were you popular? I wasn't shunned, but I wasn't popular, whatever that means. Only the cheerleader-y girls were considered "popular." They were snots.

Who did you want to be just like? Very tough question. As a human being, I would have wanted to be just like my grandfather, Grandpa Sam. To be just like anyone else in terms of success or wealth or anything like that, it wouldn't have crossed my mind.

What did you want to be when you grew up? A teacher. It's the only thing I ever considered, and I always wanted to do it, since third grade. As I finished high school, my plan, ironically enough, was to become a teacher of the deaf.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls! Yay Luke!
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here