the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Barely There 674

02.17.2005

8:04 pm

I wrote a whole entry at work today again; it's down there. But now it's 8:00. My sinuses are pounding slightly less, and it's taken me until now to finish reading diaries. I'm working on putting more stuff on the Me page, and some of it is there, but it's taking me forever to think of 100 things for the 100 Things list. This does not forbode well. Either I don't know myself at all, or I really am just boring and there aren't 100 things of interest about me.

Picking up my baby at the train tomorrow at about 6:15. Yay!


It's about 1:45, I'm at work, and I'm falling asleep. I feel useless. Not to myself, particularly, but certainly useless in terms of getting anything done. My sinuses are terrible today and I feel like I have 50 pound weight pressing against my face. I can barely stay awake.

Even so, I accomplished some actual work today. I weeded a couple of stacks, and spoke with a library mover, who's coming the day after vacation (which is next week) to look us over and give us an estimate. We got a shipment in of a whopping four books, so that took at least 10 seconds to process. There have been classes in all day, so I've worked with them here and there. Sometimes I just need to convince myself that I'm actually doing something.

So here's my surreal moment of the day, and it happened very early on. About a month ago, I lost the sunglass clip-ons for my glasses. It happened while I was coming back into the building after lunch, from the old parking lot, which is where the Chum parks, and she's the one who drives us around every day so she can smoke. I thought I put the clip-ons in my black jacket pocket, but when I looked for them inside a few minutes later, they weren't there; I must have missed the pocket and they fell out somewhere. I looked around outside the door, but no dice.

This morning, I parked my car in the new lot and was on my way in, when about ten feet from the door, lying frozen to the ground were my clip-ons. Or someone else's, but since these are specifically made for my glasses, it would have to be someone else wearing the same frames. I picked them up, cleaned them off inside, and I'm good to go.

I lost them in the parking lot on the other side of the building. Also, I pass this same way on the way in every morning since December, and I never saw them before. Granted, this area was covered in snow for a while, but not for the last week or more. So, pretty weird, huh?

The Magic Hearing Aids have worked every time today that I tested them. I believe that all I actually had to do to make this happen was send a three page letter to the audiologist in which I explained all the problems with it. Not that she did anything; it's like taking your car to the mechanic and the noise goes away. I complained, and now it works.


82 down. 18 to go.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The O.C.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here